A guide focused on primary source collections from government agencies, universities, museums, libraries, and historical organizations. First curated by Erin Owens and Kristina Claunch of Sam Houston State University.
Over 1,600 pieces of ephemera, such as broadsides and pamphlets, that document the quest to make prohibition a reality during the late 19th and early 20th centuries in America. (Brown Univ. Library Center for Digital Scholarship)
Books, pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera on political, social, economic, and cultural issues and movements in the United States and throughout the world. Covers topics such as the Rosenberg Case, Hollywood Ten, Black Panthers, Ku Klux Klan, Sacco-Vanzetti, Students for a Democratic Society, and more. (Michigan State Univ.)
Digitized documents spanning from the Continental Congress in 1774 to the 43rd Congress in 1875. Arranged in four categories: Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention; Journals of Congress; Debates of Congress; and Statutes and Documents.
The official directory of the U.S. Congress, for the 41st (1869-1871) -104th (1995-96) Congresses forward, as well all Interim editions (online-only revisions) for the 105th Congress forward
Digitized samples from the Library of Congress' collection of House and Senate hearings. Documents focus on the U.S. Census, Freedom of Information/Privacy, and Immigration. (Library of Congress)
The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. The Congressional Record began publication in 1873 and is still published today. For info BEFORE the Record's start, see Congressional Documents and Debates 1774-1875
The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. The Congressional Record began publication in 1873 and is still published today.
Serves as the index to the Congressional Record, listing individuals, organizations, and topics mentioned in the Congressional Record. Each CRI entry refers to a page number in the Congressional Record and the date of the daily issue in the format "S1234 [19JA]" (page 1234 in the Senate section from the January 19 issue for that year).
More than 2,000 scanned FBI documents, encompassing all time periods of Bureau history. (Note: Dates in the list of topcis/files indicate when documents were put online, not when the content was originally created.) (Federal Bureau of Investigation)
"The FJC, under a working arrangement with the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts (AOUSC), provides through this site public access to its Integrated Data Base (IDB). The IDB contains data on civil case and criminal defendant filings and terminations in the district courts, along with bankruptcy court and appellate court case information."
The Federal Register, begun in 1936, is the official daily publication for Presidential Documents, Executive Orders, proposed, interim, and final rules and regulations, and notices by Federal Agencies, as well as notices of hearings, decisions, investigations, and committee meetings. (Library of Congress)
The Federal Register is published every business day and contains executive orders and proclamations as well as federal agency public notices, proposed rules, and regulations. The final rules are codified in the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), which is published annually. (FederalRegister.gov)
Legislative histories produced by the U.S. Department of Justice's (DOJ) library staff, originally only for DOJ employees but now freely available. Topics include two dozen well-known public laws, including the Captive Wildlife Safety Act, the Anti Car Theft Act of 1992, and the Dent Act of 1919. (U.S. Department of Justice)
Provide online access to a sample of critical declassified records in the NSA collections at GWU, on issues including U.S. national security, foreign policy, diplomatic and military history, intelligence policy, and much more. (George Washington Univ.)
Currently includes Presidents Bush Sr., Clinton, Bush Jr., and Obama. (more planned). (National Archives and Records Administration, and Government Printing Office)
Digitized documents spanning from the Continental Congress in 1774 to the 43rd Congress in 1875. Arranged in four categories: Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention; Journals of Congress; Debates of Congress; and Statutes and Documents.
Find writings by the U.S. presidents and founders, both in the Newton Gresham Library and online.
Foreign Relations
Interested in foreign relations, foreign policy, diplomacy, and related topics? Check out the tab for "Foreign Relations & Cross-Cultural Encounters" for more possible sources!
