U.S. History: Primary Source Collections Online

Highlights of art, illustrations, engravings, maps, and sketches from the over 14,000 rare materials housed at the Library. Includes field diaries and scrapbooks, richly illustrated fragile and uniquely bound materials, published and unpublished materials, rare books relevant to natural history, and more. (American Museum of Natural History)

Digital texts of hundreds of books in Darwin's personal libraries, including his hand-written notes and comments on the pages and margins. Allows insight into his thought processes and the development of his evolutionary theory. (Biodiversity Heritage Library)

Charles Darwin’s complete publications, private papers, and manuscripts, along with reviews of his works and works about him. (Univ. of Cambridge)

More than 30,000 documents of the writing and correspondence of Albert Einstein (1879-1955). Includes English translations for most items. (Princeton Univ. Press; California Institute of Technology)

(National Institute of Standards and Technology)

Film, video, and audio documenting the history of artificial intelligence explorations. (Stanford Univ.)

This site, from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, documents the history of engineering practices and explains when, how, and why these technologies developed as they did. Check out the Innovation Map and the Interactive Timeline (which are NOT primary sources) and the Oral Histories. (IEEE)

This project documents the history of the Macintosh computer. The Archive includes primary documents, images, and interviews. (Stanford Univ.)

Consists largely of images of artefacts that document the push for science and math education during the Cold War and the Space Race. (National Museum of American History)

The words and images of the scientists who have worked and regularly visited the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory document a unique perspective on the development of molecular biology, the present state of the science, and visions of the future by the leading scientists in the field. (Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Archive)

The Resources section of the Max Planck Institute's website provides digital sources, such as the Machine Drawings 1200-1650 archive (over 1,800 machine drawings that record the history of technical innovation and ingenuity) and much more.

(The College of New Jersey)

Selected papers of Sir William Osler (1849-1919), a Canadian physician often called "the father of modern medicine" for the central role he played in revolutionizing medical education via the internship and residency system at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine. (U.S. National Library of Medicine)