Harold & Wilma Good Library: Services: Home

Research and Writing Assistance Computers and Printing Faculty Services Collections Library Policies

Ask Desk

Are you in need of writing or research assistance? The Ask light is on for you!

The Ask Desk is located online and the first floor of the library in the reference room, directly below the blue neon "Ask!" sign. Staffed primarily by librarians, we offer writing assistance, research help, and citation guidance. See the Ask Desk expectations. During the traditional academic calendar the desk is staffed throughout the weekday (minus lunch and dinner times) until 10 p.m. Reach out to us by chat, drop in to the library, or book a online appointment.

Academic Success Center

Avoiding Plagiarism Guide

Current Course Reserves

Citation Guide

Subject Guides and Course Guides

Meet with a Librarian

Stop by the library to meet with a librarian or get in touch by email:

Fritz Hartman, Library Director
Eric Bradley, Reference and Instruction
Kelsey McLane, Good Library Services Specialist
Abby Nafziger, Technical Services, Serials, and Systems
Tillie Yoder, Instruction, Reference, and Acquisitions Librarian

Request a Tutor

Request Materials / Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

WiFi

Print From a Library Computer

Printers Available in the Library:

libr-multifunction

Color or black and white
Prints double-sided
Large document scanner

libr-x585

Color or black and white
Prints double-sided
Small document scanner

Printing Costs:

Black and white pages cost 5 cents each.
Color pages cost 25 cents each.
11 x 17 Color pages cost 35 cents each. Black and white pages cost 15 cents each.

Please pay at the circulation desk!

Print From Your Device

Scan to Email

All copiers in the library are able to scan directly to an email address.

Check print balance

Computer Locations

The Good Library has over 35 computers for use, including a computer lab/classroom. These computers are both Mac and Windows enabled.

Community Computer Use

Community users are welcome to use the library computers any time the library is open. Community users will be asked to produce an ID and to sign a computer use statement in before using a computer.

Community Computer Use Guidelines

Note: During busier times of the year, community users may be asked to leave in order to free up computers for Goshen College students, faculty, and staff.

Add Resources to Class Reserves

Order Items for the Library

Find Your Liaison Librarian

Each academic area of Goshen College has a specified librarian who serves as a liaison and provides support with sources, services, and instruction. Your liaison librarian is available to:

report at faculty meetings
order new materials
provide library instruction to your courses
assist with literature reviews

The librarians' primary goal is to support the curriculum, and they look forward to working with you!

Select your subject to find your liaison librarian:

Your liaison librarian is

Request Instructional Session

Completing quality, college-level research is hard work, especially in the age of information overload and false sources. Librarians are eager to visit or host your class to provide instructional sessions on a wide range of library and information related topics. Sessions have been taught on:

finding specific materials
evaluating sources
crafting citations and using reference management software like Zotero
understanding and voiding plagiarism
setting up e-portolios on Mahara

To request an instructional session, you may:

fill out an instructional session request form
contact your liaison librarian directly
email library@goshen.edu

Request Materials / Interlibrary Loan

Reserve the Computer Lab

Borrowing Policies

Sign Up for a Free New York Times Subscription

Sign Up for a Free Chronicle of Higher Education Subscription

Find Digital Films or Videos for Your Class

Find Affordable Materials for your Classes

Looking to replace course materials with more affordable options? New affordable and quality resources are more available now than ever before. Educational Technology staff and librarians will work with you to find resources for your class. Please reach out to either the library or Erin Milanese. For open source online textbooks, we recommend the Open Textbook Library.

Copyright Information

Do you have some questions regarding copyright? Ask one of the librarians. We will help when we can. You might also want to check out this guide.

Academic Symposium

A-Z List of Databases

Find a Journal

Sign Up for a Free New York Times Subscription

Sign Up for a Free Chronicle of Higher Education Subscription

Swank Digital Films

Ebook How-To Page

Mennonite Historical Library

Aschliman Peace Arts Collection

The Aschliman Peace Arts Collection (APAC) has books, visual artwork, plays and theater materials/props, curriculum and music appropriate for children between the ages of 4 and 14. The collection is focused on promoting peace and looking at peace from different artistic viewpoints.

The materials in the Aschliman Peace Arts Collection are available to student teachers and those at the college working with children, but it is also available to the public. To learn more about Kathryn Aschliman and APAC, please click here.

Royer Reading Room

The Royer Room is a children's collection located in the basement of the library. While the primary purpose of this collection is to support the Education Department's curriculum, this collection is also open to faculty, staff, and students.

Board Games

The library maintains a collection of around 100 board games. These games range from pen and paper RPGs to family games, Euro games, and everything in between! Find them on the first floor in the Reference Room.

Checkouts & Lending

Community/Public Use of Computers

Community users are welcome to use the library computers any time the library is open. Community users will be asked to produce an ID and to sign a computer use statement before using a computer.

Note: during busier times of the year, community users may be asked to leave in order to free up computers for Goshen College students, faculty, and staff.

Eligibility for Community Cards

Interlibrary Loan

Collection Development and Library Allocations

Food Policy

In an effort to be as accommodating to as many students as possible, Goshen College Library allows for food to be consumed anywhere in the library, except for the Mennonite Historical Library.

Goshen College Library reserves the right to revoke one’s food privileges at any time. Reasons food privileges may be revoked include (but are not limited to): Food with excessive odor, messy food that is difficult to contain, and neglecting to clean up area after eating

Services: Home