U.S. History: Primary Source Collections Online

Collaboration of the Library of Congress and WGBH in Boston designed to preserve for posterity the most significant public television and radio programs of the past 60 years. The collection of 40,000 hours includes local news and public affairs programs, local history productions that document the heritage of local communities, and programs dealing with education, environmental issues, music, art, literature, dance, poetry, religion, and even filmmaking on a local level. (American Archive of Public Broadcasting)

"Declassified U.S. Government documents pertaining to Radio Free Europe (RFE) and Radio Liberty (RL) – Radios which were overseen and funded by the Central Intelligence Agency until 1971, funded there after by open Congressional appropriation, and merged in 1976 as RFE/RL, Inc." (Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars)

Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955. (Duke Univ. Libraries)

Over 3,300 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States. (Duke Univ. Libraries)

More than 100 images of "ghost signs" (painted advertisements on buildings, most prominent prior to the 1930s) in Louisville. (Univ. of Louisville)

About 600 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.(Duke Univ. Libraries)

Over 16,000 images documenting the modern history of the U.S. outdoor advertising industry. Browse the collection by company, product, date, place, subject, tone, or placement company. (Duke Univ.)

"This is a collection of “persuasive” cartography: ​more than 800 ​ maps intended primarily to influence opinions or beliefs - to send a message - rather than to communicate geographic information. The collection reflects a variety of persuasive tools ​, including​ allegorical, satirical and pictorial mapping; selective inclusion; unusual use of projections, color, graphics and text; and intentional deception. Maps in the collection address a wide range of messages: religious, political, military, commercial, moral and social." (Cornell Univ.)

Descriptions and images of billboard advertising, ranging from approximately 1918 to the 1980s. (Duke Univ.)

Large collection of print tobacco advertisements, tobacco-related video, anti-tobacco advertisements, and other resources. Use the menu at the top right to access anti-smoking themes, videos, etc. (Stanford School of Medicine)