U.S. History: Primary Source Collections Online

Manuscripts, letters, postcards, telegrams, diaries or journals, scrapbooks, printed materials, photographs, hand-drawn maps, and ephemera documenting the history of a non-denominational utopian Christian community founded by a small group of American expatriates in Ottoman Palestine. (Library of Congress)

Documents antebellum and Civil War-era history of American Baptists, both North and South.

A Norwegian language newspaper and the official newspaper of the Lutheran Free Church in Minneapolis. (Augsburg Univ.)

(Translated) Documents relations between Jesuits and Native Americans. (Creighton Univ.)

Provides digitized historic photographs, portraits, artifacts, and at least 12 historical religious journals. Includes, for instance, texts of sermons from the 1850s. (Princeton Theological Seminary) FYI: According to its website, the seminary is "rooted in the Reformed tradition," with "close ties with its parent denomination, the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.)."

Digitized images from this magazine, published late 1890s to early 1900s (Ohio State Univ.)

Documents the ministry of the Ursulines of Quebec in the Boston area and demonstrates a strong anti-Catholic sentiment in New England. Spans 1833 - 1903. Includes letters, an eyewitness report of the convent's burning in 1834, a scrapbook history, journals, pamphlets, newspaper clippings, and a photo and sketch of the convent. (Catholic Univ. of America)

The Sephardic Studies Digital Collection (SSDC) at the University of Washington serves as a bulwark against the loss of culture, language, and history. As the world’s first major digital repository of sources pertaining to the largely invisible yet historically significant Sephardic Jews of the Mediterranean world, the SSDC includes key books, archival documents, and audio recordings that illuminate the history, culture, literature, politics, customs, music, and cuisine of Sephardic Jews all expressed in their own language, Ladino.

JIMENA Experience Oral History Program was created in 2010 to record and preserve the testimonies and narratives of Jews displaced from the Middle East and North Africa. This project enables former Mizrahi and Sephardic refugees an opportunity to assert their history and document their stories of human rights abuse, denationalization, displacement, fractured identities, material losses, resettlement and integration in new societies.

Although not strictly "American," this digital archive of thousands of manuscripts from the Vatican library may inform Catholic history research. (Vatican Library)

Photographs documenting the building, hall, and alcoves where Catholic educational institutions displayed objects and printed material from 1892-1893 during the World's Columbian Exposition in Chicago, Illinois. (Catholic Univ. of America)

Vatican Council I, the 20th of the general Councils, held in St. Peter's Basilica, Dec 8, 1869, through Sept 1, 1870. Primarily European participants, plus about 48 U.S. representatives. (Catholic Univ. of America)

Catholic comic book provided to Catholic parochial school students, 1946-1972. Digital collection contains the first eighteen volumes, 1946-1963, which are in public domain. There are some issues missing from Volume 4 (1948-1949). Site also includes 2006 interview with illustrator and writer Frank Borth by the American Catholic History Research Center. (Catholic Univ. of America)

Documents 1920s effort by the KKK to shut down Catholic schools and require public school attendance, approved by Oregon state voters but shot down by the U.S. Supreme Court. (Catholic Univ. of America)

American Catholic voices in the debates about how to cope with the spread of industrialization at the turn of the 20th century. (Catholic Univ. of America)

Documents the relationship between Catholics and the Knights of Labor union. (Catholic Univ. of America)

Examines American Catholic feelings about the growing gap between the richest and poorest Americans in the early 20th century. (Catholic Univ. of America)

Considers religious support during Franklin Roosevelt's 1936 presidential race. Features previously unavailable audio and documents related to the presidential campaign of 1936 and the involvement of each priest in that campaign. (Catholic Univ. of America)

Documents disagreements on race among American Catholics in the 1920s and 1930s. (Catholic Univ. of America)