Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Accessibility: Video

Overview

For accommodation purposes, videos used in courses must contain high-quality captions. If you create videos yourself (i.e. video lectures) or intend to show a full length film/documentary, video clips, etc., check with Kelsey McLane, kmclane@goshen.edu, at the Academic Success Center to ensure that captions are added correctly.

 

*If you're using Kaltura, make sure to click on the Kaltura tab for captioning information

 

Feel Good video about how important captions are and the progress we've made with this service!

Get Started

GC Captioning Options

Video Captioning

Third party owned videos (e.g. found on YouTube, Vimeo, etc.) used in your courses must also contain high-quality captions. To assist you in this process, the Academic Success Center has developed a sequence of steps to help you determine that the best captioned video content is sourced and being used for your course.

 

 

  • Search YouTube using a filter for captioned material
    1. search and title or topic in the search bar at www.youtube.com
    2. at the top of the page, click on "filters"
    3. select "Subtitles/CC"
    4. These can be directly embedded into your Moodle class

 

  • Search our Licensed Databases (Library):

Contact Kelsey McLane and provide a list of videos you intend to use for your course.  She will search for the same and/or similar video content in one of the existing Goshen College subscribed video databases (Kanopy, Swank). Most of these videos already contain captions and GC has licenses to use these videos (unlike most videos found on YouTube, Vimeo and similar services). You are encouraged to search these databases, too.

 

  • Seek captioning support

If already-captioned video content is not successfully located in the Library subscription databases or via other resources, Kelsey may be able to caption the content or outsource caption creation to a service provider. Factors affecting this step include the following elements:

a.    licensing restrictions of the work;

b.    turnaround time required and;

c.    length of the video content.

 

If you already have written permission from the copyright owner, this last step will be greatly aided. For more information about requesting captioning for 3rd party videos, contact Kelsey at (574) 535-7827 or by email at kmclane@goshen.edu

GC Subscription Databases with Transcribed Content

The Harold & Wilma Good Library subscribes to the following video databases that cover educational, documentary content as well as some independent/foreign feature films.  In addition to Goshen College having licenses to use video content from these services which will mitigate copyright concerns, the vast majority of the clips are already captioned and/or transcribed. The Academic Success Center is willing to assist you with searching these and additional resources for content that meets your subject needs and has captioning included.  Feel free to reach out to Kelsey McLane, kmclane@goshen.edu for any questions or to use these databases.

Kanopy Streaming Streaming Media

Kanopy is a collection of more than 19,000 streaming documentaries and foreign/indie feature films, available on a patron-driven acquisition model (all titles are available to you, the Good Library pays for licenses that hit usage triggers). If you are interested in using this database, please contact Kelsey McLane (kmclane@goshen.edu) to gain access.

 

Swank Digital Campus Streaming Media

Contains select feature film streaming media content

 

How to Video

Accessibility Guidelines for Video Content

This is an overview of the elements that require special consideration when using video content. Please review one of the Additional Resources for detailed instructions on any of the following:

  • Caption (or subtitle) all spoken content and music with lyrics.
  • Provide a transcript for spoken content and music with lyrics in the video. Include visual description of images that provide content (i.e. not decorative).
  • Provide an audio description of essential images displayed in the video.
  • Edit out or post a warning at the beginning of the video if it contains flickers or blinks at any time.

Additional Resources

Amara Captioning