All written assignments must be typed, with clear page numbers at the top or bottom of each page. Papers should be double-spaced and must be turned in on Turn-It-In, through the Moodle page. Turn-it-in checks for plagiarized material copied from the web, other student papers, and selected on-line databases. Papers should be in Times New Roman, 12-pt font. Please check spelling, punctuation, and grammar carefully, since multiple errors will result in grade reductions.
All papers should have a clear thesis stated in the first or second paragraph, and should be thesis-driven thereafter. In other words, you need to clearly argue/defend/support your thesis throughout the paper.
For source identification in the integrative research papers, you should use the Turabian or Chicago methods for footnoting. See the "Chicago/Turabian" tab at the top of this guide.
You can access a number of journal abstracts or full-text, previously published articles off of Good Library’s connections to various search engines - see the "Databases" and "eBooks" tabs above. Take advantage of this opportunity to use legitimate sources. The internet also includes a variety of illegitimate articles – ones not juried by peer scholars – so you should take care in your research. Wikipedia, for instance, may not be used as a source. You also should not do a simple Google search to access information for your papers, although Google Scholar will sometimes give you useful articles from academic journals. Citations off the internet (even from legitimate sources) are not sufficient for your papers: juried articles from academic journals (see earlier list) and/or books are necessary for papers in this course.
This database is a collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books that have short articles on a wide variety of topics. It's a great place to browse and get a sense for what you might like to research in more depth.
Credo Reference is a multidisciplinary collection of subject encyclopedias and dictionaries. Developed with beginning researchers in mind, it includes resources to help develop search terms, as well as bibliographies that directly link to the library catalog. A strength is the robust quality of the articles written, while a weakness is that it is missing obscure topics. Subscription.
This site is has up-to-date information on a wide range of hot-button issues. CQ Researcher is a great place to find summaries and arguments from experts that can get you brought up to speed on controversial topics.
Find articles and other content from news media around the world. Take advantage of the ability to browse the latest headlines by subject and see if you get inspired to research something in more depth.