Broad collection of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. A great starting point for any topic!
Academic Search Complete contains 18,000+ multidisciplinary titles indexed and abstracted (16,000+ are peer-reviewed) and 9,000+ full-text publications. Strength and weakness: very broad, so searchers are likely to find results, but may be overwhelmed by quantity. INSPIRE.
Full-text of core academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. It's entire collection contains around 2,000 journals, although local access will vary. These are subscriptions, and chosen individually, so each collection will reflect the focus of the institution. The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues. Subscription.
This is Google's answer to paid databases like EBSCO. It uses the open web to find scholarly resources - but be aware, not everything it turns up will be available freely. We recommend searching the library catalog first.
Best place to start for religion and theology research. Includes full-text journals and citation-only journals and books.
Atla Religion Database combines indexed journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with over 360 major religion and theology journals. Browse by Scripture, Publication or Index including the Atla Catholic Periodical and Literature Index, Talmud, Book of Mormon, and Quran index. Also includes book reviews and essays. Subscription.
This database provides access to peer-reviewed journals from across the social sciences, including politics, demographic studies, and history.
Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides the full text of 150 non-open access journals and detailed indexing for over 800 periodicalsthe vast majority are peer-reviewed. Over 220 titles are not held in Academic Search Complete, of these 60 are currently full-text (19 with a 12-month embargo) and about 40 have some full text but stopped over 3 years ago. (H.W. Wilson) INSPIRE.
Full text for 860 journals dating to 1908, 830 books, and 16,000 conference papers
TIPS FOR FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES
First, try these tips ...
Identify a key book or author for your theory
Search for the book or author in one of the databases to the left or you can try our search everything search below.
If you are still having trouble (too many results or irrelevant results) ...
Use the advanced search and search for your book or author in the title or subject fields.
If you are using the search everything search, make sure you sort by relevance only. (on the results screen, this option is at the top and to the left.
