CORE 172: Religion and Politics: Chicago citations

As of last fall, the Chicago and Turabian style manuals have adapted the same rules for citation and are effectively the same for undergraduate student work. 

There are two common forms of citation in this style

• bibliography-style (used mainly in humanities and some social sciences)
• reference list style (used in most social sciences and natural and physical science)

The following are examples for the bibliography-style. This style requires footnotes (or endnotes) and a bibliography. The first time a source appears in a footnote, the full citation is given. The second and subsequent times that source is listed only the author's last name, an abbreviated title and the page number need to be included.

• The University of Chicago Turabian Quick Guide.
• University of Delaware Turabian Guide (pdf)
• The Chicago Manual of Style, 15th ed. Chicago: Chicago University Press, 2003.
  Ref PN 147 .U69 2003
• Turabian, Kate L. A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 7th ed. University of Chicago Press, 2007.
  Ref LB 2369 .T8 2007

Full text journal article from a database:

Include the stable URL listed with the article.

(footnote):

   4. Per Pinstrup-Andersen, "Feeding the World in the New Millennium," Environment 43, no. 6

(2001): 27, http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=4764111&site=ehost-live

(accessed October 16, 2001).

(bibliography):

Pinstrup-Andersen, Per. "Feeding the World in the New Millennium." Environment43, no. 6 (2001):

   22-31. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=4764111&site=ehost-live

   (accessed October 16, 2001).

Website:

(footnote)

   3. Anup Shah, "Causes of Poverty," Global Issues That Affect Everyone,

http://www.globalissues.org/TradeRelated/ Poverty.asp (accessed October 16, 2001). 

(bibliography):

Shah, Anup. "Causes of Poverty." Global Issues That Affect Everyone.

   http://www.globalissues.org/TradeRelated/Poverty.asp (accessed October 16, 2001).

Video:

(footnote):

   5. Adrian Malone, "Tightrope of Power", part 9 of Millennium: Tribal Wisdom and the

Modern World, VHS, prod. Michael Grant & Richard Meech (Alexandria, VA: PBS Video, 1992).

(bibliography):

Malone, Adrian. "Tightrope of Power." Part 9. Millennium: Tribal Wisdom and the Modern

   World. VHS. Produced by Michael Grant & Richard Meech. Alexandria, VA: PBS Video, 1992.

Lecture notes:

(footnote):

(bibliography):

Shetler, Jan Bender. "Tanzania." Class lecture, Goshen College, January 23, 2000.

Manuscript (archival) collections:

(footnote):

   7. John Howard Yoder, "A Mennonite Perspective," Nov 30, 1987, box B, folder 3, John Howard Yoder Papers, 1944-2013, HM1/048, Mennonite Church USA Archives, Goshen, IN.

(bibliography):

Yoder, John Howard. "A Mennonite Perspective." John Howard Yoder Papers, 1944-2013. Mennonite Church USA Archives, Goshen, IN.

Book:

(footnote):

   1. George S. McGovern, The Third Freedom: Ending Hunger in Our Time (New York: Simon &

Schuster, 2001), 100.

(bibliography):

McGovern, George S. The Third Freedom: Ending Hunger in Our Time. New York: Simon & Schuster,

   2001. 

Book association as author:

(footnote):

   2. Action Against Hunger, The Geopolitics of Hunger, 2000-2001: Hunger and Power (Boulder:

L. Rienner, 2001), 55.

(bibliography):

Action Against Hunger. The Geopolitics of Hunger, 2000-2001: Hunger and Power.

   Boulder: L. Rienner, 2001.

Essay by one author in a book edited by another author:

(footnote):

   6. Gordon Straw, "Race, Poverty, and the Environment: The Disadvantaged Face Greater

Risks," in The Global Ecology, ed. Edward Moran (New York: Wilson, 1999), 30.

   

(bibliography):

Straw, Gordon. "Race, Poverty, and the Environment: The Disadvantaged Face Greater Risks."

   In The Global Ecology, ed. Edward Moran. 11-30. New York: Wilson, 1999.

Journal article:

(footnote):

(bibliography):

Rich, Bruce. "Still Waiting." Ecologist 30, no. 6 (2000): 8-17.

   

Biblical citation:

(footnote):

(bibliography):

You do not need to include the Bible in your bibliography.