Skip to main content

REL 207: Religion and Politics (May 2020): Getting started

Deciding on a Topic

Research Paper Assignment

Research Paper Guidelines Guidelines for writing the research paper include the following:

1. All written assignments must be typed, with clear page numbers at the top or bottom of each page. Papers should be double-spaced and must be turned in on Turn-It-In, through the Moodle page. Turn-it-in checks for plagiarized material copied from the web, other student papers, and selected on-line databases. Papers should be in Times New Roman, 12-pt font. Please check spelling, punctuation, and grammar carefully, since multiple errors will result in grade reductions.

2. All papers should have a clear thesis stated in the first or second paragraph, and should be thesis-driven thereafter. In other words, you need to clearly argue/defend/support your thesis throughout the paper.

3. For source identification in the integrative research papers, you should use the Turabian or Chicago methods for footnoting. See the "Chicago/Turabian" tab at the top of this guide. 

4. You can access a number of journal abstracts or full-text, previously published articles off of Good Library’s connections to various search engines - see the "Databases" and "eBooks" tabs above.  Take advantage of this opportunity to use legitimate sources. The internet also includes a variety of illegitimate articles – ones not juried by peer scholars – so you should take care in your research. Wikipedia, for instance, may not be used as a source. You also should not do a simple Google search to access information for your papers, although Google Scholar will sometimes give you useful articles from academic journals. Citations off the internet (even from legitimate sources) are not sufficient for your papers: juried articles from academic journals (see earlier list) and/or books are necessary for papers in this course.

5. According to GC’s student handbook, academic dishonesty includes plagiarism (“giving the impression that another person’s words, ideas, images or data are your own”); falsification of data; submission of the same or substantially the same paper in more than one course without the prior consent of all instructors concerned; depriving others of necessary academic sources; aiding another student’s academic dishonesty; and sabotaging another student’s work. Plagiarism from any source (e.g., the internet, books, journals, another student) will result in a failing grade for the course. Papers you submit in this course will be checked for plagiarized material copied from the Web, other student papers, and selected on-line databases. Cases of plagiarism are reported to the associate dean. Other forms of academic dishonesty that will result in a failing grade include cheating on tests or turning in a paper for this course that is being used or has been used in another course (without discussing this with me and your other professors beforehand). For useful information about plagiarism, go to www.goshen.edu/edtech/plagiarism.htm. 

Ask Desk Chat

Ask Desk (Librarian Chat)

Ask Desk neon sign

Hmmm… Either chat hasn't loaded yet, or something went wrong and chat isn't working right now.

Is chat offline? Get in touch with a librarian at library@goshen.edu!