Harold & Wilma Good Library: iPads at Goshen: Apps for Research

Navigate This Page

Ebsco Ebooks
Databases with Apps
Other databases
Stats and Data

Looking for Something Else?

Document Readers
General Research tools
Note Taking
Presentation
Study Aids

Using the Library Website

Search PRIMO and the Library collection on your iPad!

Open the Safari application and head to the library website (library.goshen.edu). Follow this handout for more detailed instructions on accessing articles, books, and Ebooks through PRIMO.

Downloading EBSCO eBooks for Your iPad

To download EBSCO ebooks on your iPad you will need the following:

Next, authorize Bluefire Reader with your Adobe ID.

When you open Bluefire Reader you will be asked immediately for your Adobe ID and password.
If you do not do this when initially installing Bluefire Reader, do the following:
1. Open Bluefire Reader
2. In the upper right hand corner, select the Info icon
3. Under the Accounts heading, select Authorize
4. Insert your Adobe ID and password

Finally, let's download some books!

Open the Safari browser (this will not work with Chrome or other tablet browsers)
Go to the Good Library website http://library.goshen.edu, then go to EBSCO under Popular Links or Popular Databases
Select eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Search for a book of your interest, then select Download (Offline)
You will be prompted to sign in to your My EBSCOhost account, do so now.
Select Checkout & Download. You will be able to have the book on your iPad for 7 days.
A new tab will open with the link Open in "Bluefire Reader", go ahead and select it.
Bluefire Reader will open and download your selected title. You will be able to read now or later.

Databases with iPad Apps

ACS - Free
Follow journals and view abstracts. Access full-text articles from the archives when connected to the GC wireless. More information available here.

EbscoHost - Free
Access the GC Ebsco databases through your iPad! You need to complete a 2 step process to access the databases with the proper authenitification. Follow the steps on this handout.

List of EbscoHost databases.

Databases That Work on the iPad Through Safari

These databases do not have apps, but work fine though Safari on your iPad. Click the links below for access.

Note: In many cases, you will need to download a full-text PDF to another application like iBooks or Goodreader to view an article. See this handout for instructions.

ACS - American Chemical Society This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from the American Chemical Society.
American Chemical Society Journals provides access to the core list of scholarly journals in chemistry. Compiled by the American Chemical Society, it contains full text for articles from 1879 to 2012 with abstracts from 1879 to day. Subscription.
arXiv This link opens in a new window
A great resource when looking for the full text of a specific article. Generally, not the best *starting* point for research.
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for over 1.8 million scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Note that articles are moderated *but not peer reviewed by arXiv,* though they may be peer-reviewed elsewhere. Posted versions may be pre- or post-peer review. Strength: broad coverage. Weakness: can undergrads distinguish between versions (preprint, post-print, etc)? Instead of putting on an A-Z list, consider turning it on in Collection Manager and/or adding to subject guides. Free.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Biomedical research from 219 peer-reviewed journals; full text, open access
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from a variety of sources in myriad languages. Particularly useful when you have a citation and need to find the full-text.
Directory of Open Access Journals provides a directory of open access peer-reviewed journals (and open access articles in hybrid journals). Can search journal metadata or article metadata. Includes many languages. Turn on in KB but not on your A-Z list. Free.

EBSCO
Access 35 EBSCO databases. While EBSCO has an app, you can navigate through Safari if you prefer. You will need to download documents to iBooks or Goodreader to view.

Oxford Music Online (formerly Grove Music Online) This link opens in a new window
Well-known source for background articles on music, mostly focused on Western Art music, with some coverage of Jazz, non-western and folk music.
Oxford Music Online is a comprehensive encyclopedia of Western art music (i.e. classical music), with general coverage of jazz, non-Western, and folk music. Also includes the Oxford Dictionary of Music and Oxford Companion to Music. Previously known as Grove Music Online. Long a standard source for music. Subscription.
IPA Source This link opens in a new window
Transcriptions and translations of songs and arias
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text of core academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. It's entire collection contains around 2,000 journals, although local access will vary. These are subscriptions, and chosen individually, so each collection will reflect the focus of the institution. The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues. Subscription.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Art focused full-text source for finding background information about art and artists.
Oxford Art Online provides access to the art reference work Grove Dictionary of Art. It is a good starting point for studying an artist, school, medium or theme. Articles are often detailed and include bibliographies for further reading. It includes global coverage but is particularly good for western art. Includes images. Subscription.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Definitive English language dictionary; words from 1150 CE to the present day
entries include over 2 million dated quotations from English language history, literature, and records; facts concerning word forms, changes, and etymology
Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace This link opens in a new window
Multivolume encyclopedia on the historical, political, theoretical and philosophical issues relating to peace and conflict
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Well-known source for background articles on music, mostly focused on Western Art music, with some coverage of Jazz, non-western and folk music.
Oxford Music Online is a comprehensive encyclopedia of Western art music (i.e. classical music), with general coverage of jazz, non-Western, and folk music. Also includes the Oxford Dictionary of Music and Oxford Companion to Music. Previously known as Grove Music Online. Long a standard source for music. Subscription.
Oxford Reference Premium Online This link opens in a new window
Broad selection of books for reliable, brief entries on many subjects.
Oxford Reference is a collection of electronic encyclopedias and dictionaries published by Oxford University Press. Its strength comes from Oxford University Press reputation, but many of the results are very short entries. Subscription.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Professional Development Collection contains professional development resources for educators with 500 scholarly journals and 230 professional reports.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.

Formerly Business Wire News.

Stats and Data Apps

	2010 Census Browser - Free Quick access to population and demographic information from the 2010 Census.
	Diversity in America - Free Diversity visualized
	FRED - Federal Reserve Data -Free Economic data from the Federal Reserve. There is also a general Federal Reserve app with info about each bank.
	.Gov apps - Free There are over 100 apps available from the US government. Check out the list for more data and statistics apps.
	Stats of the Union - Free Health care statistics visualized
	UN Country Stats - Free Compare and contract countries with this app. More free apps from the United Nations listed here.
	World Bank EdStats DataFinder - Free Research data on education around the world via the World Bank. More free data apps from the World Bank here.

Also check out the Government & Statitics Guide for website options.