Harold & Wilma Good Library: NURS 604 / N604: Promoting Health in Vulnerable Populations (May 2018): Getting Started

Major Organizations

Start at the home page of major organizations. Investigate A-Z lists, search boxes, top tabs, side menus.

Open pdfs of comprehensive reports, look at their list of references.

Start at these two resources:

Explore U.S. Census Data
Find popular facts (population, income, etc.) and frequently requested data about your community.
National Center for Health Statistics
CDC. Check out 'Students and Librarians' section.

Follow-up by looking at the broader data in these resources:

census.gov
US Census Bureau
Stats Indiana
"Indiana's Public Data Utility"
in.gov
Central website for state of Indiana

To cite U.S. Census data using APA, treat the information under the guidelines of Government Documents. Do not simply cite “US Census website” but the specific sources, i.e. “Demographic Profile”

Basic Format:

U.S. Census Bureau (year data was published). Name of data or report. Retrieved from [URL].

APA Style: Census Data, Tax Forms and Other Government Documents
From University of Southern California Libraries

Nursing Databases

CINAHL with Full Text
Nursing and allied health journals; full text from over 600 journals.
--Basics of CINAHL Lesson
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, recent, and thorough entries focused on the medical field.
--New User Registration Guide

Cochrane Reviews
Summaries to 4,000 reviews on evidence-based practice. Request via interlibrary loan.
--Basics of Cochrane Reviews

MedLine with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Extensive listing of medical scholarly journal articles compiled by the U.S. government, some available full text.
MEDLINE is an index of life sciences and biomedical research developed and supported by the U.S. National Institutes of Health. It lists 27 million sources from 1966 to the present with robust search functions including an up to date thesaurus of words and phrases that represent subjects in the medical field. A strength is its extensiveness and selectivity of medical research, while a weakness is its limited options for full text (approximately 15% of the collection is full text). INSPIRE.
PubMed.gov
Extensive listing of medical journals articles compiled by the U.S. government.
--PubMed Tutorial
PubMed is an index of life sciences and biomedical research developed and supported by the U.S. National Institutes of Health. The core of the PubMed collection is MEDLINE. It lists 30 million sources from 1809 to the present (only selected sources prior to 1966) with robust search functions including a thesaurus of works and phrases that represent subjects in the medical field. A strength is its extensiveness and selectivity of medical research, while a weakness is its limited options for full text. Free.