Skip to Main Content

It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

5 Things Your Library Friends Like

August 28, 2020

Need a place to Zoom?

Is your house or dorm room not a great place to join your Zoom class? The library has 6 new “Zoom Rooms” for you to use. All you have to do is come to the front desk of the library and request a key. There are three rooms located on the 3rd floor and three in the basement. We do ask you to use a headset (if you don’t have one, check one out from the front desk) and use the disinfectant kit after you are done. Check-outs are first come, first served and limited to 2 hours at a time. Happy Zooming, everyone. -- Abby

Duck Fashion Shows and more at My Modern Met 

Are you an art enthusiast, design junkie, or a fan of whimsy? Check out My Modern Met at their website, or Twitter and Instagram for a regular dose of interesting and beautiful things to brighten up your day. Recent-ish favorites of mine include this article on an annual duck fashion show in Australia, a collection of famous portraits altered to depict Bill Murray, and the finalists for a macro-lens photography contest. -- Tillie 

Visiting churches with The Ten Minute Bible Hour guy

Curious about the various expressions of Christianity, and want a non-judgmental introduction to them? Matt Whitman is a Protestant (Evangelical Free) pastor in western Wyoming who visits Christian churches of all different stripes and forms, tours their buildings, and interviews their leaders. My favorite part of these videos is how Whitman gives the utmost respect to those he interviews, and allows them to speak for themselves on their Christian faith tradition. -- Eric

How to ADHD 

This YouTube channel may be geared towards people with ADHD, but it has a lot of relevant information for anyone struggling to manage the stress and boredom that come with pandemic life. With videos like “How to cope when everything is awful and you’re not okay,” and “How to be ok in a crisis,” the host Jessica combines an understanding of real-life problems with well-researched solutions. She also has handy playlists on specific topics, including tips for setting goals and managing time, the basics of self care, and how to handle the demands of college. -- Tillie

Beautiful art made by College Mennonite Church quilters

If you need a few moments to rest your eyes or something lovely, consider stopping by the library gallery (in the basement) to see the most recent exhibit by the Mennonite Amish Museum Committee. It is full of amazing quilts that showcase a range of modern styles, traditional techniques and intricate designs. The gallery is open whenever the library is, however non GC students/faculty/staff members are asked to contact the MHL to set an appointment. -- Abby

September 4, 2020

The Tech Habits That Drive Us Crazy

Let’s face it, working and learning through technology is both awesome and tedious. Along with all the quirks of technological tools are the various ways we use it. This Wall Street Journal article provides some annoying tech habits, best practices on how to avoid them, and tips to gently nudge those who do toward new customs. You are sure to find things that annoy you as well as things you do yourself. -- Eric

Stitch by Stitch

Knitting can sooth the COVID-19 anxiety. To me, knitting is a chance for my mind to “unknot”.  Eventually you also get a shawl, hat, blanket, socks, etc. to show for all your therapy. There are many sites explaining the benefits of knitting.  I think this one is the most straightforward: Therapeutic Knitting to Manage Stress, Depression and Chronic Pain Weird fact: during the two World Wars, knitting was used as a therapy for “shell shock” (aka PTSD). --Cynthia

Feed your Spirit with Elizabethan Poetry

Patrick Stewart is reading a Shakespeare Sonnet a day on Instagram. Follow along on his page. #ASonnetADay --Beth Bontrager

Take your research beyond our library

Did you know that we have a program called interlibrary loan that allows you to access books and articles that aren’t owned by our library? This program is free, easy to use and allows you to access research far beyond our physical and digital collections. All you have to do is find an item in one of our databases or catalogs and use the Request It button. Articles generally arrived within 2-3 days, while books can take 7-10 days. Start searching today. -- Abby

Veritasium - Science VLOG

Veritasium is a YouTube channel founded and run by Derek Muller.  Muller (who has a PhD in Physics Education Research) features videos on a wide range of science related topics … though most are slanted towards Physics and Engineering. You can see his page here.  -- Fritz

September 11, 2020

The Overview Effect

Need a bit of beauty in your inbox every day? Subscribe to Overview Daily, a site that aims to “stimulate awe, increase desire to collaborate, and foster long-term thinking” by sharing stunning images of the Earth from above. Get a dose of something beautiful and broaden your awareness of our home. -- Tillie 

Games Done Quick

Games done quick is a charity event that features video game “speed runners”.  The events are live (and then the live recordings are put on YouTube later). The games range from the retro NES to modern video game titles. There is often commentary (much like a sporting event) during the playthrough!  -- Fritz  

Comfort TV

Find a show or video on YouTube or other media that is familiar and comforting for you to relieve stress. Some people like episodes of "Arthur" or "Star Trek". This familiarity can relieve loneliness as well, and, if you ask around, you may find a fellow fan who will watch with you. -- Beth Bontrager

Looking for a global source of news?

We have a new database that you might be interested in! NewsBank is a collection of over 12,000 news sources from around the world. You can search for sources by topic, region or time. Additionally it includes many small local newspapers from Indiana including The Goshen News (2007 to current) and The South Bend Tribune (1994 to current). Check it out yourself or set up an appointment to review it with a librarian. -- Abby

I Can Go For That: The Smooth World of Yacht Rock

Times are bad. They were also bad in the 1970s, just Google “Gerald Ford swine flu vaccine” for an example. During this time, a genre of music developed which eventually was labeled as Yacht Rock, soft rock that provided a reassuringly vague escapism. Last year BBC Four produced a two part documentary on this music of the late 1970s and early 80s which is now available on Internet Archive. You’ll be longing for a boat ride before you know it. -- Eric

September 18, 2020

The Great British Baking Show Returns!

If you are like me, you find this show to be both relaxing and excellent baking inspiration. Good news, the most recent season of The Great British Baking Show is coming to Netflix next week on Sept 25. The show will update with new episodes every Friday. On your mark, get set, bake! -- Abby

Free or Low Cost Virtual Professional Conferences

Attending professional conferences as an undergraduate is an excellent opportunity to get your feet wet to a career as well as network with professionals in that field. Going to professional conferences is expensive, but thanks to the pandemic most of these events have gone virtual and are either free or deeply discounted. Consider looking up professional associations in your are of interest and see when their conferences are and how they are hosted. --Eric

Amazing and Astonishing Works of Art

Are you feeling like life is a little blah? Battling boredom or a touch of ennui? Colossal is an art and design blog that posts new sublime art objects and installations every day. They are liable to be equal parts astonishing and baffling, and above all, they are guaranteed to stimulate your sense of wonder. -- Kyle Schlabach

An Oldy, But Still a Goody

Okay, so absolutely everyone knows about LOL Cats, but have you checked it out lately? If ever there was a time we all needed a Good, Hard Laugh, it’s now--And you don’t even have to be a Cat Lover to enjoy the great pictures and silly “cats-can’t-spell” jokes. Just remember this site is like catnip--You might not be able to stop yourself! -- Esther Guedea

Khan Academy Courses

Khan Academy offers all sorts of free online courses on everything from mathematics to coding to art history. And now they have a new life skills class where you can explore career options, learn how to manage your finances, and get advice on self-promotion and entrepreneurship. Check it out! -- Tillie

September 25, 2020

Tecmo Super Bowl for 2021

Before there was Madden, the way to play video game NFL football was through Tecmo Super Bowl. The game is most famous for its unbalanced performance of running back Bo Jackon, which Family Guy had a great tribute to this game. In more recent years the game has had a revival with various hacks and modifications, along with numerous online tournaments. Check out the free download for Tecmonster’s Tecmo Super Bowl 2021. I ran this on my Mac with OpenEmu and played via a Xbox controller and have had a blast. -- Eric

Are you missing the family pet(s)?  

This daily picture of different dogs and cats may be just the thing. http://dogoftheday.com/ It is fun to see what people name their pets. I enjoy the daily cuteness. -- Cynthia

Spot the Troll

Fake social media profiles exist, and they are much harder to identify than you might think. Luckily for us, the Clemson University Media Forensics Hub has designed a quiz that tests your savvy and gives tips on how to identify fake accounts and trolls. Check it out and let us know how you did! -- Tillie

How to vote in every state

Did you know the deadline (October 5th) for registering to vote in Indiana is coming up? As college students, you may have residency in two states, but you can only vote in one. Here is a helpful series of videos that outlines how to vote in each of the 50 states. This is the one for Indiana. Still confused about voting? Stop by the Ask Desk to meet with a librarian or writing mentor, we would love to help you. -- Abby 

Another Online Comic You Don’t Wanna’ Miss!

Here’s another free online comic that I highly recommend for their imaginative subjects as well as great artwork. Powernap, a humorous and mind-boggling story from Mexico (don’t worry, there’s an English version if languages aren’t your thing) that is just finishing up its run, and this one’s a Real Hoot! I had to be careful about where I read it, as I often ended up literally Laughing-Out-Loud. Plus, the art is often so Awesome, it’s like seeing Pink Elephants, but without the nasty side effects. -- Esther Guedea

October 2, 2020

Funny Animal Therapy online

Join "Corona Cats", “Funny Dogs”, “Catastic” or “Dobby the Super Cat” on Facebook. Enjoy silly pictures of quarantined pet owners and their struggles to share space with their animal friends. -- Beth Bontrager

Are you confused by APA?

Flummoxed by footnotes? Misled by MLA? Or just looking for some citation help? You are in luck, there are a whole host of librarians and writing mentors ready to help. You can drop by the library (10am to 5pm M-F; 7-10pm S-R) or set up a virtual appointment at tutorcal.goshen.edu (choose Writing all subjects). -- Abby

Mind Mapping app

Looking for something fun and useful? Check out this app that lets you organize your ideas in a visual manner. -- Judy

Want to read some children’s books?

Tired of assigned readings?  Missing your international study location? Explore the International Children’s Digital Library, a nonprofit that works to expand access to children’s books from around the world. -- Joe Springer

More online comics you should try

Stand Still, Stay Silent is a still continuing story about the world after a terrible plague, specifically as applied to the survivors in the Nordic countries of Iceland, Sweden, Norway and Finland (the author is Finnish.) Just like watching anime can teach you about Japan, so this comic has told me a great deal about these countries I never even guessed, including their languages (and the differences between them), folklore and mythology (turns out it’s not all just Vikings.) There’s also great art, frequent humor, some sorrow and a few thrills, but if the topic is a bit too much right now, the same person has also completed the comic, A Redtail’s Dream, which has similar great art, humor and and a folklore story, but keeps your mind off of uncomfortable current subjects. -- Esther Guedea

October 9, 2020

Mudlarking and Mask Design

It’s all too easy to lose time doom-scrolling through Twitter and Facebook. Why not follow whimsical and uplifting accounts to insert some joy into your day? I particularly like the London Mudlark (on FB and Twitter), where mudlarkers (riverbed scavengers) post photos of interesting historical objects found on the banks of the Thames. I am also loving the Breathe. project, which calls on Indigenous craftspeople across North America to create masks inspired by traditional arts that demonstrate resilience in the face of Covid-19. Check out the beautiful examples on their Facebook albums, and take a peek at the digitized exhibit hosted by the Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies. -- Tillie

Do These Two Things Go Together?

Dilbert may have his Catbert, but who’d-a thunk that real engineers could be Crazy Cat People? The Engineer’s Guide to Cats will explain the “typical” house-feline in easy-to-understand, kinda’ scientific videos on Youtube, covering every subject from Cat Yodeling to harnessing excess….um, “cat gas“....(Think Green!) Sorta’ educational and very funny, the only question left is, “How did they get their cats to do that without being scratched to smithereens?” (And, Yes--They have an answer for that one, too!)  -- Esther Guedea

Need a little classical music in your life? 

Try a Bach cantata at  www.emmanuelmusic.org. -- Beth Bontrager

Trying to vote? Visit Ballotpedia  

Ballotpedia is the digital encyclopedia of American politics and elections. They do their best to provide neutral information to voters, those considering running for office and more. Their ballot look up tool is a great way to see ahead of time what is going to be on your ballot. Just enter your address and select the relevant election to see a sample ballot. -- Fritz Hartman

Need help preparing for the GRE, MCAT, LSAT or more?

Learning Express Library is a new database full of practice tests, tutorials and more to help you with many Graduate School admissions exams or college placement exams. In order to access the tests, you will need to create a free account through the site. -- Abby

October 16, 2020

Meet the Student Workers at the Library!

We have a few returning student workers this year and quite a few new ones! Get to know them by following along on our Facebook or Instagram (Free Instagram account required to view) pages. This week, meet Lucia Martinez Hernandez: “I'm a nursing major with a minor in musical theatre. I'm a senior and will be graduating this Fall (yay!). My favourite thing about the Library is the Think Tank since that was the place my study group and I were able to pass our nursing classes, so it seems like a bittersweet place. I also really enjoy the second floor of the library, especially once the trees start turning yellow and you can see a storm of yellow leaves falling…..” view the rest of Lucia’s introduction on Facebook. -- Kelsey

MOBA: The Museum of Bad Art

After all the links to fascinating and thought-provoking art in the last several “5 Things,” it’s high time to look at some bad art! Visit the website of MOBA, the one and only museum dedicated to “the collection, preservation, exhibition, and celebration of bad art in all its forms.” Flip through hundreds of images of art rescued from dumpsters or given away at garage sales and ponder why anyone would want to paint dancing blue dogs or glue underwear to a canvas. The more you look, the more you’ll cringe, and sympathize, and laugh… and lose all ability to tell what “good art” is. -- Tillie

Kitty Treat

Yes, this is another Oldy, but Goody, that’s worth a second look--And now he has his own website! Simon’s Cat can still be found in abundance on Youtube, but if you’re interested in all the latest concerning this krazy kitty, this is the Home site for you, with all the very newest episodes, along with more goodies to purchase than you can shake a catnip mouse at. So cuddle up with your new plush Simon’s cat, and enjoy!  -- Esther Guedea

Supporting each other in these challenging times

Here are some tips for giving genuine compliments. We all can use them. -Cynthia

TikTok, Ocean Spray and Stevie Nick

Have you been hearing Dreams by Fleetwood Mac a lot more these days? Maybe even seen some interesting videos of people drinking Ocean Spray and playing that song? Well, you have probably seen a meme inspired by Nathan Apodaca, an unassuming Idaho potato worker who recently catapulted to internet fame when his TikTok video went viral. Read the story and see the original video here. -- Abby

October 23, 2020

The Natural World - Painted by Numbers

I recently stumbled upon this fascinating online exhibit on the works of naturalist illustrator Ferdinand Bauer. Known for his incredibly detailed and accurate work, Bauer created a system of precise color swatches to use in his works - and now this exhibit allows you to search his works by those colors, as well as by scientific name and common name. I’m particularly drawn to the section on flowering plants. -- Tillie 

Meet the Student Workers at the Library!

We have a few returning student workers this year and quite a few new ones! Get to know them by following along on our Facebook or Instagram (Free Instagram account required to view) pages. This week, meet Emily Bennett: “I am a senior English major with an art minor. My favorite thing about using the library is being able to find all kinds of interesting books to use in classes or read in my free time. My favorite thing about working at the library however, is being able to put my knowledge to good use and help connect students with the resources they need when they come in looking for a book or simply don't know how to use the library website.…..” view the rest of Emily’’s introduction on Facebook. -- Kelsey

Why Social Media Is So Good at Polarizing Us

We all know that social media is a cesspool for highly partisan perspectives. However, does social media in and of itself polarize us? This Wall Street Journal article provides a review of the latest academic research on this topic, which is currently inconclusive. The research has found that a key factor is the presentation of viewpoints, driven concurrently by partisan media outlets (think cable news) and political parties. Viewpoints presented to give the ‘biggest emotional punch’ both pull us toward them as well as, and in a more powerful way, away from them. “Social media might not be a direct driver of political polarization in the U.S., [but] the way it interacts with many other phenomena could mean it has outsize power to drive us apart.” --Eric

My racing ADHD brain won't let me sleep

See "This Simple Sleep Formula Calms My Racing ADHD Brain" Here: https://tinyurl.com/y3w88y8c. ADHD can be severe enough to warrant academic accommodations under the Americans with Disabilities Act. If you want to explore that possibility, contact Judy Weaver at jweaver@goshen.edu. 

The Covid-19 Elkhart County Report

The CDC evaluated Elkhart County’s response to COVID-10 for about a month starting July 6th.  Hot off the presses (10/22/2020), here are their findings. -- Fritz

October 30, 2020

And Yes--Another Cat Thing!

If you sense a theme here, it’s because I’ve gradually been transforming into a Crazy Cat Lady, ever since I met a cat named Percy when I was five. So if you can stand yet another Adorable Kitty Bitty, there’s this tidbit about why cats “knead” us--Enjoy!  -- Esther Guedea

Free access to New York Times and Wall Street Journal

Did you know that you can get a free digital subscription to the New York Times and free access to articles from the Wall Street journal? Here is how to access those resources. But that isn’t all, you can get access to thousands of scholarly articles, books, and substantial news and magazines by searching the library catalog. Learn more about how to use library resources in this Library Basics libguide. -- Abby

Meet Another Student Worker

Gogo also joined us last year, and was our worker over the summer—get to know a little more about him! “Hi! My name is Gogo Liegise. I am a Senior (Class of '21) with a major in Molecular Biochemistry. My favorite thing about working at the library is getting to take some time off from school and shelve books; I find to be a massively cathartic practice…” Read the rest of Gogo’s profile and see his picture on our Facebook page. -- Kelsey

Underwater Waterfalls!

Did you know that there are waterfalls in the ocean?! The largest one is 3 times as high as the largest land waterfall, Angel Falls in Venezuela and 2,000 times more powerful than Niagara Falls!  You can learn about the Denmark Strait Cataract from NOAA.  And you might be interested in the “underwater waterfall” of Mauritius--but don’t be fooled! This is just a beautiful optical illusion! -- Kelsey

Library Takeout Video

During this spring’s lockdown Duke University’s Libraries developed this delightful video highlighting their Library Takeout program. From this video has come a whole series of copycat videos, including one featuring Prince, and another with a country western twist. Although nonmusical, Curbside Larry, is a fun addition to this genre too. -- Eric

November 6, 2020

Book Review

If I Go Missing by Brianna Jonnie - This is a haunting graphic novel based on letters from an Indigenous teenager in Canada who wrote to the authorities about her concern that statistically, Indigenous females are more likely to go missing, be raped, assaulted, or sexually violated. Yet the authorities do not prioritize the searches and justice for these missing girls like they do searches for white children who have been kidnapped. Brianna Jonnie is a fierce advocate for herself and these missing women and children. Grab a box of tissue and your computer to start alerting the authorities now! -- Kelsey

Not Something I Would Normally Do

Since COVID sheltering, I have been having Mama-Son dates with my 18-year old. First we would watch an episode or two of Star Trek The Next Generation each date and discuss. Then he started college at GC. Now on weekends, we watch several episodes of Stranger Things each date. I highly recommend both series--for different reasons. STTNG, besides starring the fabulous Patrick Stewart, explores many social mores, religion, ideology and philosophy, as well as classic stereotypes. OK, so I could do without the females’ form-fitting uniforms, but try out STTNG social distanced with a friend and have discussions. Stranger Things is just plain WEIRD but nicely shivery and creepy. Plus you’ve gotta like the ‘80s hair. Take a break and step out of reality! -- Beth

Free access to ARTStor

Thanks to JSTOR’s generous support of libraries during COVID-19, their resources ARTStor is available free until June 30, 2021. A great place to find images, ARTStor is made up of “approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million images (and growing), you can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource. Artstor also supports study across disciplines, including anthropology from Harvard’s Peabody Museum, archaeology from Erich Lessing Culture and Fine Art Archives, and modern history from Magnum Photos,” making it a great resource to explore. Check it out. -- Fritz

And Now for Something Completely Different (No CatsThisTime)

Just in case you thought that only cats and dogs can have “Funniest Home Videos”, here’s ten minutes of silly Equines proving that they, too, can be Cute and Amusing. -- Esther

A new way to find stats - Statista

Statista is a new database purchased by the library to help you with your studies. It contains “statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22,500 sources”. Topics range from business to social media to gaming and health care. Plus once you find the statistic you need, you can easily view the source and download the data in a range of convenient formats. Check it out today, or contact the library to get an introduction. -- Abby

November 20, 2020

Birdfeeders and Birdbrains.

Activity suggestion! Bird-watching! I have two bird feeders set up on squirrel-proof poles about 15’ from my kitchen window so I can watch birds while I wash dishes (multitasking, naturally). I failed to consider, however, how stupid birds can be. One feeder is a cylinder with two holes and metal guides inside at each hole to supply the birdseed. But if the seed gets too low, birds try to squeeze their heads through the hole past the metal guide to get at the tiny bit of seed still left in the cylinder. I’ve plucked out one dead sparrow who strangled itself and managed to extract two live birds who were stuck. The only solution I have found is to keep the cylinder at least half-full so that the birdbrains don’t condemn themselves to strangulation. So while I highly recommend bird-watching as a pastime, I find I spend a lot more time caring for and worrying about my birds than I do my two cats. The cats never get their heads stuck in their food bowl, and if I forget to fill the water dish they just drink out of the toilet. -- Beth 

The Magnificent Obstacle Course for Squirrels

Have some time to spare, or need something to help you decompress? Check out this wonderful video of a former NASA engineer playing with his neighborhood’s squirrels. As he attempts to squirrel-proof a bird feeder, his plans get progressively more and more elaborate… and the squirrels get more and more clever. Who will triumph - man, or nature? -- Tillie

As Seen On…..*

So you may have been enjoying Locke & Key on Netflix, or Good Omens on Amazon Prime, but did you know that the GC Library has the print versions? Here’s your chance to read the original source material--Compare and decide what you like or dislike about the film adaptations!

* The phrase used to be “As seen on TV,” but all the really good stuff is streaming these days--Right? -- Esther

Be a Schedule Builder, Not a To-Do List Maker

This article reveals the Achilles' heel of distraction and provides a guide for getting the best of technology without letting it get the best of us. By the author of Indistractable: How to control your attention and choose your life: -- Cynthia

You can still get help at the library!

While final exams start today, you might still have papers and projects to finish. Have the fear the library is here to help. You can still schedule appointments at the Ask Desk Monday and Tuesday (Nov 23-24) and even the first week of break (Nov 30-Dec 3). To schedule an appointment, go to tutorcal.goshen.edu and select Writing (all subjects). We can help you with writing, research or whatever else you need help with to finish off this semester. Find out more about getting help here. -- Abby

November 13, 2020

Mental toughness is a huge indicator of success

Here’s how to know if you’ve got it. The hallmarks of mentally tough people are actually strategies that you can begin using today. -- Cynthia

Coloring Pages

Need something to keep your hands busy and let your mind wander when you’re stuck inside? Coloring is always a good choice, and thanks to the #colorourcollections project, you can access printable coloring pages of art and memorabilia from museums around the world. Go to the project’s website to find something that strikes your fancy. -- Tillie

Meet Another Student Worker

Meet our CTS (tech/library) worker, Catrina! “I’m Catrina Lambert, but everyone calls me Robin. I’m a social work and psychology major, and I’m a second year student. Something I really love about the library is being on the second floor when it snows in the winter. …” Read the rest of Catrina's profile on our Facebook page. -- Kelsey

Hone your Day Trading skills

Investopedia’s Stock Simulator - To be clear, there have to be better stock simulators out there and it is clunky and a tad confusing at first to set up, but it's free! But I personally appreciate the sort of soft “educational” bent to the simulator. What I really like is that I can be ruthless and devoid of a moral compass without fear of the consequences...in short, I can be a DAY TRADER!  I can practice my Day Trading skills. So far, I’ve lost $22 fake dollars. And why the heck is WD-40 so popular all of the sudden? -- Fritz

I’m An Addict

WordsWithFriends is a dreadful app. I mean, I’ve gone from a game now and then with my aunt in Boston, to several simultaneous games with her as well as games with Practice, The Daily Challenge, and games with several other friends and various avatars. (I swear Practice makes up words and the avatars are using dictionaries and other apps to find unbelievable words.) But I stay up way too late playing and even squeeze in a few moves if I wake up in the middle of the night. Still, WordsWithFriends is a chance to improve your vocabulary and keep that mental dexterity going. -- Beth

January 15, 2021

New place to find test prep books and materials

Are you studying for the GREs, the LSATs or other graduate school exams? Learning Express Library is a new database full of practice tests, tutorials and more to help you with many Graduate School admissions exams or college placement exams. In order to access the tests, you will need to create a free account through the site. Additionally the print books the library has available can be found in the Reference room in the Career Resources section. -- Abby 

Looking for a new podcast?

If you are interested in the phenomena known as Amish romance novels, or other depictions of Mennonites and other Anabaptist groups in pop culture, check out Just Plain Wrong. Created by three GC librarians (Abby Nafziger, Erin Milanese, and Tillie Yoder) you can find it on iTunes, or wherever you listen to podcasts. -- Tillie, Erin, and Abby

Love of Books Contest

Did you read a good book over break? Tell us all about it by either making an Instagram post (tag @goodlibrary), emailing abigailmn@goshen.edu, or filling out a form in the library. Then, tell us what great book you want to read next! We will randomly select one of you to receive a FREE copy of that new book you want to read, for keeps! We will also purchase a copy of the book for the library. Deadline is January 29. Read on! -- Kelsey

Polygon’s The Sci-fi Best Books to catch up on

Catch up on the best Sci-Fi and fantasy books of 2020 according to Polygon.  They read them all so that you don’t have to! Find something you like, but we don’t have? Consider requesting it via interlibrary loan or request the library order a copy. -- Fritz

Did the Library Cancel The New York Times?

We get this question often, and the answer is No! However, our subscription to The New York Times does require users to renew annually. Thankfully it’s a real straight forward task. Our directions at libraryguides.goshen.edu/nytimes provide short and quick instructions for completing this task. -- Eric

January 22, 2021

Is the Ask Desk Still a Thing?

While there have not been as many friendly (hopefully we’re friendly) faces sitting behind the Ask Desk due to Covid restrictions, the Ask Desk continues on virtually. Either drop by chatting with us at the library website library.goshen.edu (scroll and look to your right) or set up an appointment with us at tutorcal.goshen.edu. For writing assistance, research help, and citations the Ask Desk light is on for you! -- Eric

Red Bull Soap Box Derby   

This ain’t your normal soap box derby...it is more of a series of horrid physics experiments. Contestants are scored equally for their time, the “creativity” of their …. Um …. vehicle, and some sort of intro dance performance. My favorite in the race linked here, has to be the pyramid. -- Fritz 

A new way to find stats - Statista

Statista is a new database purchased by the library to help you with your studies. It contains “statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22,500 sources”. Topics range from business to social media to gaming and health care. Plus once you find the statistic you need, you can easily view the source and download the data in a range of convenient formats. Check it out today, or contact the library to get an introduction. -- Abby

Build Your Own Planet 

Feeling bored or dissatisfied with Earth these days? Try playing around with PlanetMaker, a generator that lets you see what the results of tweaking our planet and solar system might look like. Maybe we need a second moon, or pink oceans? Or perhaps a set of beautiful rings like Saturn? -- Tillie

On Becoming Friends With a Non-Disabled Person

How often do you think about stairs to public spaces or how easy it is to squeeze between crowded tables? This excellent essay by a disabled woman, Kelly Dawson, helped open my eyes to how issues of accessibility are not optional for many people. She also includes a great question to consider asking if you have a friend with mobility issues, “How can I help you do what you’re already doing?” -- Abby

February 5, 2021

The Search for the Saddest Punt in the World

It’s playoff time for the National Football League, while we sit back and enjoy the best of the best battle for a chance to play in and win the Super Bowl. However, American football is not primarily a game of watching Patrick Mahomes throw touchdown after touchdown to Tyreek Hill, but of… punting. Chart Party has taken a witty approach to looking for the worst punt, combining statistical analysis and the push and grind of the game. -- Eric

The (Digital) Quiet Place

Need a brief moment to relax and reset before diving back into the world? Check out the Quiet Place, which offers a short 90-second meditation in a variety of languages to help you take an effective break. -- Tillie

Looking for an inexpensive, fun activity for the weekend?  

Try making your own soft pretzels. (If you are from Pennsylvania, I believe you have done this before.)  Plan ahead by gathering a few simple ingredients. While the dough rises you can play a game or read a very awesome children’s book out loud that you checked out from the Good Library. My suggestions are Antiracist Baby by Ibram X. Kendi , Kamala and Maya’s Big Idea by Meena Harris or (my favorite) I’m Sad by Michael Ian Black. -- Cynthia

Haikus are easy
but sometimes they don't make sense
refrigerator

Another month, another library contest! This time, we want you to put on your poetry hats and try your hand at writing haikus. A haiku follows a pattern of three lines, 5 syllables, 7 syllables, 5 syllables. Send your haiku to kmclane@goshen.edu or fill out a form at the front desk. Deadline is February 22 and the winner will get 2 copies of their choice of book (1 for them, 1 for the library) -- Abby

Meet our Student Workers: Anna!

We have a few returning student workers this year and quite a few new ones! Get to know them by following along on our Facebook or Instagram (Free Instagram account required to view) 

This week, meet Anna: “I am an environmental science major with an earth and climate concentration and a Spanish minor. I am a sophomore and will graduate in 2023. My favorite thing about the library is sitting in the second floor study area and looking out the big window onto campus, especially when it's rainy. My favorite thing about working at the library is the chill atmosphere. I like to go on bike rides and bake. A quirky thing I can do is burp on command. My favorite candy is Reese's peanut butter cups.” -- Kelsey

February 19, 2021

Open Library now searchable in the catalog

We added 99,918 books to our library this week! Boy are we tired. In all seriousness the library added Open Library to online collections this week, findable through our search box. Open Library is an open, editable library catalog that includes links to nearly 100,000 eBooks and audio books. These books can be checked out just like any other library title. -- Eric

Meet our Student Workers: Andrea!

We have a few returning student workers this year and quite a few new ones! Get to know them by following along on our Facebook or Instagram (Free Instagram account required to view) -- Kelsey

This week, meet Andrea: “I'm a senior-year English major and Theatre minor, planning on graduating in May of 2021. My favourite thing about the library is, oddly enough, our organization system - there's something really satisfying about how each book has a specific place where it belongs. Outside of the library, my favourite things to do are writing, drawing, and playing video games. My weird talent, if you can call it that, is that I accidentally trained my cat to knock before he enters a room. My favourite candy is jelly beans, especially the Jelly Belly kiwi, mango, and sour cherry flavors.”

Donate or Shop, the Depot is Open!

Perhaps you have been sorting through things and want to donate your rejects? Or perhaps you are looking for something fresh and new for your closet or house for gently used clothing, furnishings for your living space, craft items, and more. -- Cynthia
The Depot Thrift Stores, has new hours.
Shopping hours are 1 pm - 5 pm, Mon - Fri, Saturday 9 am - 1 pm.
Donation hours are 9 am - 5 pm, Mon - Fri, Saturday 9 am - 1 pm.

Playing With Sand

Who all remembers those neon-colored sand bottles that were all the rage as a kid? Even if you don’t remember them, you’ll still probably like this soothing website where you can dump sand across the screen to create interesting patterns and unleash your inner kid. -- Tillie

Last chance to enter the library haiku contest

Want to test your haiku prowess and have the chance to win two copies of a book (1 for you, 1 for the library)? Write a library themed haiku (3 lines, syllable pattern 5, 7, 5) and send your haiku to kmclane@goshen.edu or fill out a form at the front desk by Feb 22nd. -- Abby

February 26, 2021

Little House Off Grid

Has the events of the past year had you reconsidering the way you want to live your life? YouTube will provide you plenty of alternative lifestyle choices, such as nomadic or off grid living options. Four years ago Rob and Carloyn were burnt out with their long work hours and oversized mortgage and decided to live in free campsites in a pop-up camper while working remotely. After three years of traveling they have settled down to the off grid life in a tiny house. Rob’s daily 12 minute videos are fun and informative. -- Eric

Better Than a Movie Version

The Last Hero: A Discworld Fable, by Terry Pratchett, is a very good way to introduce oneself to the Wild and Wacky Discworld Universe, a flat “planet” that travels through space resting on the back of four giant elephants standing on the back of a even larger sea (space?) turtle. And how is this possible?--Magic (of a particular purpley-orange hue), of course! Oh, and a very bent and British sense of humor, as well. 

Taking a number of characters from their own, usually self-contained, story-lines, including Cohen the Barbarian (the “Hero” of the title), Prachett has mixed them together in an all-encompassing story that goes from the Edge of the World (which really does drop off into nothing!), to the underside of the flat world (for a visit with the critters mentioned earlier) and on to Mount Olympus, Home of the Varied and Various Gods (including my Personal Favorite, Bast “....the god of things left on the doorstep or half-digested under the bed.”) And as this is an illustrated novel, the art is WONDERFUL, including some two-page spreads of the various breeds of dragons and, er... gods, plus depictions of many of the better known characters of Discworld, such as Rincewind the Wizzard (that’s how it spelled on his hat), the Librarian (who was changed into an Orangutan, and likes it that way), and Death (who adores kittens, and wishes more people would stop by for tea.)

The GC Library has this book in our Graphic Novels Collection, so whether you’re a Discworld Novice or a Pro, sit back and enjoy! -- Esther

Vote for your favorite children’s book

Join us this month as 16 books recommended by faculty and staff at GC face off in our interpretation of March Merriment. In this first round a few notable books go head to head such as Jamberry v. Big Red Barn and Du is Tak? v. Bloom. Voting is open now through March 4th before we move to Elite Eight. If you want to see these books in person, stop by the library next week. Vote here: bit.ly/2021BoB -- Abby

Meet our Student Workers: Greta!

We have a few returning student workers this year and quite a few new ones! Get to know them by following along on our Facebook or Instagram (Free Instagram account required to view) -- Kelsey

Meet Greta: “Hi am an English and education major with a writing minor. I am a sophomore and will graduate in 2023. My hobbies are baking, making art, and filling my room with little knick knacks from the Depot. My favorite part of the library is all of the cozy places to study and the popular fiction section. My favorite part of working at the library is opening it up on Saturdays and getting to turn on all of the lights! I also love to see all the interesting books people are checking out.

A fun fact about me: I have been journaling for over seven years! My top tip for people trying to start journaling is to start by simply writing down five things you are grateful for every day.”

Looking to get a new pet or rehome a pet?

If you’re looking for a new pet to snuggle up with, or trying to find a new fur-ever home for your pet, check out “Rehome,” https://rehome.adoptapet.com/. For those trying to find a new home for a pet, Rehome is the perfect place to post a bio and photos of your pet and share with people serious about finding a companion.  When you’re able to find a home for your pet through a website like this, it keeps our animals out of shelters where they might otherwise have to be put down. Alternately, when you use Rehome to adopt a pet, you’re helping to keep these pets out of those shelters! -- Kelsey

March 5, 2021

Motivation Ideas from the Academic Success Center

Our friends at the ASC put together an excellent list of speeches, practices, and other great tips and tricks on getting yourself through the mid-semester slump. My personal favorite is the 40 Inspirational Speeches in 2 Minutes. Where else can you see Aragorn followed by Patrick Stewart, a classic indeed! Check it out here. -- Abby

March Merriment Book Contest

Our original 16 children’s books selected by GC faculty and staff have been winnowed down to our Elite Eight. Check out the pairings here and place your vote!. http://bit.ly/2021BoB -- Abby

Meet our Student Workers: Adam!

We have a few returning student workers this year and quite a few new ones! Get to know them by following along on our Facebook or Instagram (Free Instagram account required to view) -- Kelsey

Meet Adam: “I’m a junior in ASL and Theater. I will graduate in 2022, and my favorite thing to do at the library is reading! I enjoy reading popular fiction as well as informal books. Working at the library allows me to find time to read a good book and organize books on the shelves. I enjoy playing games and one weird fact about me is that I can clap with both of my hands...one-handed. My favorite food is chicken pot pie, and I like having conversations about a variety of topics. I can't wait to see you in the library!”

The Conversation -- Academic rigor, journalistic flair

From the about page: “The Conversation is a nonprofit, independent news organization dedicated to unlocking the knowledge of experts for the public good. We publish trustworthy and informative articles written by academic experts for the general public and edited by our team of journalists. On this website (and through distribution of our articles to thousands of news outlets worldwide), you’ll find explanatory journalism on the events, discoveries and issues that matter today. Our articles share researchers’ expertise in policy, science, health, economics, education, history, ethics and most every subject studied in colleges and universities. Some articles offer practical advice grounded in research, while others simply provide authoritative answers to questions that sparked our curiosity.” -- Fritz

So many books, so little time!

Did you know that the Good Library orders new books every month? Some books are ordered because of requests, other books are ordered because they are on a “Best of …”list. When books arrive, they are placed on the “New Book” shelves in the alcove just outside of the Reference Room. You are always welcome to look them over there. Here are 3 books that I think look especially interesting this month. -- Cynthia

  • The Talk is written for ages 10 and up. It is a collection of frank discussions about racism, identity and self esteem.

  • Stand Up and Shout Out is about women’s fight for equal pay, equal rights and equal opportunities in sports.  Topics include the politics of sport, sexual assault, pay equality, women in coaching positions and the experiences of women of color and LGBTQ athletes.

  • The Pride Guide is an empowering guide for LGBT teens and their parents.  It explores sex, dating, relationships, puberty and personal safety.  This is a great book that will help a person to be strong and self aware.

March 12, 2021

Battle of the Children's Books

Another week closer to the end of our campus wide endeavor to pick a favorite children’s book. We started with 16 books nominated by GC faculty and staff and now only our Fabulous Four remain. You can stop by the library to see the books in question and click on this link to vote. http://bit.ly/2021BoB -- Abby

Meet our Student Workers: Olivia!

We have a few returning student workers this year and quite a few new ones! Get to know them by following along on our Facebook or Instagram (Free Instagram account required to view) -- Kelsey

Meet Olivia: “I'm a class of 2023 math major and graphic design minor. My favorite thing about working at the library is poking around the stacks during shelving shifts and discovering new books that I never would have known about– my reading list never stops expanding! And, when I want to sit down and devour a good book, there's always a cozy corner with a comfy chair to settle into.

I love hiking, embroidery, and D&D, and my weirdest talent is that I can hear water boiling from a room away, even when I'm not paying attention. Many years of making mac and cheese have trained me well. My favorite candy is Kit Kats, so much so that I have an emergency stash in the bottom of my calligraphy box.”

Saving the hedgehog from extinction

This is an article about a village in England which is working to have all private and public spaces linked by holes in fences specially designed for hedgehogs to traverse. I found it interesting because I think hedgehogs are adorable (think Beatrix Potter). I am also impressed by the people’s dedication to not allowing hedgehogs to go extinct. -- Cynthia

Do You Know “Firefly”?

This is one of those TV shows that has persevered against all odds (and Soulless Network Executives), much like the various and sundry characters within its quite unique Western/Science Fiction World. Although this series only ran for 14 episodes before being canceled, it was so popular that it went on to become a near heart-stopping thrill-ride of a theater movie, “Serenity,” (No hyperbole--It’s really that exciting!), and yet still refused to die! Now the story continues with a series of excellent graphic novels that pick up where Serenity left off, and the GC Library has Volumes 1-5 in our Graphic Novel Collection for you to enjoy, even if you’re not already a fan. -- Esther

Need some help with a paper? Have a burning research question?

Stop by the Ask desk to meet with a friendly librarian or writing mentor. No question is too silly and no paper is too far gone, we can work with you wherever you are at. Most college students get help from the Ask desk at some point in their college careers, so why shouldn’t you? You can drop in during M-F 10am to 5pm and S-TR 8-10pm, or sign up ahead of time at tutorcal.goshen.edu -- Abby

March 19, 2021

“What’s the point of singing if you’re not using your voice to move mountains?”

Over winter break, I picked up a phenomenal Greek myth retelling, Never Look Back by Lilliam Rivera.  A few weeks later, it dawned on me that our theater department is putting on the  production of Orfeo ed Euridice, the inspiration for this realistic fiction story of love, loss, and hope. I love a good modern retelling, and this one absolutely delivered! Ignore (or adore!) the YA trope of “popular guy falling for the awkward, there's something wrong with her, new girl.” I loved their relationship. I loved the element of magic with Eury's history. This book hit on mental health, cultural identity, diversity, grief, and true love. This story has it all, and I didn't even really realize the connection to Orpheus until the end. Not only does this story blow retellings out of the water, it’s also told as #ownvoices. You can check this book out from our Orfeo display in the front lobby! -- Kelsey

Updates to Digital Video - Kanopy 

Figuring out how to show videos in class has been extra complicated this past year. While there are very few good solutions in this world, we are excited to announce that Kanopy can now be used as a tool to license films for 1 to 3 years. While these licenses are expensive, once purchased they allow you to show the film in class or embed it in Moodle for students to watch on their own time. To find out more check out this guide -- Abby

Are you a sun sneezer? 

I was 50 years old before I realized that not everyone is a sun sneezer. All members of my family are sun sneezers and I thought everyone was. A co-worker said, “I have a sneeze waiting to come out.” I said, “look at the light”. My co-worker looked at me like I had lost my mind. So, I came to realize that looking at a bright light or the sun didn’t make everyone sneeze. I just wanted you to know about sun sneezing before you lived half your life not knowing this obscure but important fact. -- Cynthia

Two Beloved Children’s Books, Only 1 Winner

All month long you have helped select the winner of our March Children’s Book Contest. Now there are only two books left, go find out which are the final two books and vote for which one you think should win. http://bit.ly/2021BoB -- Abby

Zoom Quilt

Go to this link, sit back and take a trip! Note: NOT recommended if you are currently taking anything that makes you say things like “far out” or “wild” or “be one with the universe, dude.” -- Fritz

March 26, 2021

Children’s Book Contest Winner!

Thanks to all of your voting, this year our two finalists were

Jamberry by Bruce Degen Nominated by Mary Rose Norell

You Are Special by Max Lucado Nominated by Emma Henderson

And when the polls closed late last night the winner was You Are Special!

Congrats to Emma Henderson for nominating a book that clearly resonated strongly with campus. Watch for more library contests next month for National Poetry Month -- Abby

TikTok for Eagles?!

Once plentiful in our part of the US, bald eagles saw their numbers sharply decline in the late 1800’s because of the draining of wetland habitat. By 1900, there were none left in Indiana. Their plight became even more dire throughout the 20th century as DDT and other pressures drove them close to extinction. But after nearly 50 years of conservation efforts, bald eagles are making a comeback, and more pairs are returning to northern Indiana year after year. One pair nests at the Notre Dame Linked Experimental Ecosystem Facility in St. Patrick’s County Park in South Bend, and researchers have placed a 24-hour live eagle-cam in their nest. Head on over to https://environmentalchange.nd.edu/resources/nd-leef/live-bald-eagle-cam/#in-nest-cam to check it out—the eggs will be hatching any day now! -- Kyle

Another Digital Video option

Figuring out how to show videos in class is extra complicated right now, but the library has recently purchased some credits with Docuseek. Docuseek includes a broad range of documentary films that can be licensed for $100-$150 a year. Once licensed these films can be show in class or embedded in Moodle for outside viewing. Check out this libguide to learn more or browse to see what is available. -- Abby

I’m so ignorant and how I’m trying to be better

I knew next to nothing about being undocumented, and when I came across the book, If I Tell You the Truth by Jasmin Kaur, not only did I learn how nearly impossible it is to gain citizenship in a timely fashion (or ever), but this book also touched on the #metoo movement. While this is a fiction novel, the truth of this situation is evident.  

Kiran, a young Punjabi Sikh woman, moves to Canada for school...but more so to flee from her fiancé's brother--the man who raped her and got her pregnant. Determined to raise her child and be an independent woman in a new country, Kiran works to gain her citizenship. However, after 18 years of jumping through hoops, working day and night without rest, and fearing every day that she might be deported, Kiran is still right where she started, albeit with a family she loves. This heart-wrenching story gives ignorant people like me a look at the everyday struggle and fear of being undocumented and the politicians in power who want to keep it that way. -- Kelsey 

Need a Break from Reality? (In Four Parts)

If your brain feels a bit overwhelmed by scholarly facts and research papers, and you’re mourning the loss of a proper Spring Break, here’s an introduction in four weeks to four long-running, reliable (not even COVID slowed them down!) Fantasy Online Comics that will give your mind a rest, exercise your imagination and maybe even give you a Reason to Live, again (Well, at least through the end of the semester.) Each boasts fantastic art, excellent writing, humor, excitement, tears--And characters that you’ll come to Love, Hate, and always Remember, long after the story is over. Oh, and they’re all Free!

Part One: Gunnerkrigg Court is about a learning academy that mixes Science and Magic, and aside from some superficial resemblances, it’s not anything like Hogwarts at all! But it’s just as much fun, even without Voldemort. And watch how the art changes over time, getting better and better with the growing experience of the comic’s creator, Tom Siddell. -- Esther

April 9, 2021

Broadsides 

Did you know that GC has its very own poetry publication? Broadside Publishing selects about ten poems each year written by students, faculty, staff, and connected community members and creates prints of the poem with accompanying illustrations. You can get hard copies of these beautiful works in your campus mailbox by emailing lymiller@goshen.edu and asking to be added to the mailing list. If you’re interested in seeing your own poetry in print, watch the Communicator for open submission times and go for it! You can also look through past Broadsides here. -- Tillie 

Need a Break from Reality? (In Four Parts)

So you’re still missing Spring Break (even when it’s in February?) Here’s the continuing introduction to four long-running, reliable (not even COVID slowed them down!) Fantasy Online Comics that will give your mind a rest and exercise your imagination.

Part Two: Namesake is a very original and vibrant look at the many worlds of Fairy Tales, including modern classics like Alice in Wonderland and Peter Pan, and what happens when Magic is real and Stories write themselves. I know I will never see The Wizard of Oz the same way, thanks to this comic! (Plus, I adore the various unexpected Romances, too.) ~Esther

Spring is the time!

Foraging for your meal is so fun. Tender dandelion greens, morel mushrooms, mustard and purslane are just a few delicious things to find in the Springtime. Here are three ebooks from the Good Library to get you started. -- Cynthia

In Pursuit of Wild Edibles : A Forager's Tour, by Jeffrey Greene 

Field Guide to Edible Wild Plants by Bradford Angier

Browsing Nature's Aisles : A Year of Foraging for Wild Food in the Suburbs by Wendy Brown and Eric Brown

Interlibrary Loans: Did You Know?

This is probably old news to most of you by now, but just in case you’ve never heard of “ILLs,” and have always wondered just what the heck we at the GC Library were talking about, let’s begin with this Basic--

“I need information on this subject for my class, but I didn’t find anything on the shelf at the Library, not even the book I was looking for! What’ll I do!?”

Don’t Panic. No library is large enough to contain every book on every subject, so to make up for that, libraries all over the world often participate in an Interlibrary Loan Program to cover what they might lack, loaning materials in both print and electronic forms to each other for patrons’ use, sometimes even internationally. And here at GC, it’s Easy-Peasy--Just log on to the Good Library website, click on “Services” at the top of the page, scroll down to “Request Materials”, and fill out the form with the info of the item you were looking for. Or, if you find something in the Library Catalog, but we don’t own it, click on the “Request It” button, and ask for a copy. Then relax and let us do the rest, usually free of charge. If it’s out there, we promise not to rest until we’ve found what you need! ~Esther (Interlibrary Loan Processor)

Combusting women as acts? 

This is only one of many unique stories you can find on Apex Magazine, an independent fiction magazine. Read a sample of their writing here. --Thanks to student Patrick Webb for this find!

April 16, 2021

Interlibrary Loans: Did You Know?

So, if you read my last bit on this subject fairly closely, you may be asking yourself--

“What do you mean by ‘...usually free of charge’?”

No Need to Worry--Most libraries participating in Interlibrary Loan do not charge for materials they loan this way, either to their patrons or other libraries. And like regular check-out and a myriad of other wonderfully convenient and well-nigh essential services libraries provide, it’s already paid for, either with taxes (Public Libraries) or tuition (Academic Libraries)--Something good to remember when doing your tax returns or facing those student loans!

However, there are some libraries, which, for one reason or another, do charge for their ILL loans, and the good news for you is that the Good Library will cover up to $15 of such fees when this happens. After checking all the free-of-charge libraries available, if the only library with the needed material happens to charge more than that, we will always contact you before agreeing to pay, and ask if you wish to cover the extra expense. 

NOTE: Due to COVID, we are now paying the entire extra fee for you! But again, we never agree to any payment beyond the initial $15 without checking with you first. ~Esther (Interlibrary Loan Processor)

Creative Dating on campus

Have a favorite book from the past? Has your significant other read it? Want something new neither of you has read? Try checking out a popular or junior fiction book from the Good Library (new “new books” displays!!) and reading it aloud to one another. Share snacks, discussion and memories, and make new ones! -- Beth

The Black Friend: On Being a Better White Person

This is another phenomenal book that has earned 5 stars on my Goodreads. This book gives a first hand look at what the author has gone through as a black person growing up around white people--the things that white people will say and do whether they know they’re being racist or not, and how we can be better. Joseph goes over how to be antiracist, and gives tips on how white people can slough off the ole “I don’t see color” philosophy and be intentional about inclusivity and equality. If you liked How to Be an Antiracist or You’ll Never Believe What Happened to Lacey, you’ll definitely want to pick this one up. -- Kelsey

Dandelion Spring Salad With Simple Garlic Oil Dressing

Dandelion salad is perfect for summer days. Leave some in the yard for the bees though! Here is my favorite recipe. -- Cynthia

Ingredients

  • 1 TB avocado oil

  • 1 tsp juice from a lemon

  • 1 tsp raw honey

  • 2 tsp chopped garlic scapes if you don’t have access you can mince about a half clove of garlic

  • ¼ tsp sea salt

  • ¼ tsp pepper

  • 2 cups dandelion leaves rinsed and pat dry (I like to tear mine in half)

  • A few dandelion flowers rinsed and pat dry

  • Slices of radish to garnish

Instructions

  • Whisk the oil, lemon juice, honey, garlic, salt, and pepper in a small mixing bowl. You can taste it for salt/pepper if you wish.

  • Put the dandelion greens in the bowl and toss to combine. Serve with radish slices and dandelion flowers to garnish.

Gravity Points

Gravity Points is a gravity simulation. You have these tiny particles that zip around. Then you can add a bigger object to see what happens.  The bigger objects collide to make even bigger objects.  Basically, it's a really neat representation of gravitational force.  Note: you can keep the big objects from colliding and you can control the number of particles on the screen. -- Fritz

April 23, 2021

When Stars are Scattered

This graphic novel biography tells the story of Omar and his brother Hassan who grow up in a refugee camp in Kenya. Written by Omar Mohamed and illustrated by Victoria Jamieson, this book emphasizes the humanity of refugees, while not getting mired in pity. Highly recommended for middle school to adult readers. You can find it in our newly created Juvenile Graphic section downstairs in the Royer Reading room. -- Abby

Need a Break from Reality? (In Four Parts)

Still can’t face the sight of yet another mind-numbingly boring text without wanting to burst into tears? Then meet another one of these four long-running and reliable Fantasy Online Comics, and feel refreshed!.

Part Four: Gaia is more of a standard fantasy (dragons, wizards, magic, etc.), but like the others already mentioned in the last three weeks, it’s a great read--And there are no exams to take afterwards, not even about Magic.

And remember, all four of these Online Comics are updated on a regular basis, and Free! -- Esther

Returned books make librarians happy

As you breathe a sigh of relief and wrap up spring semester, give your library books a much deserved break too by returning them! You can return your Good Library and Mennonite Historical Library books to the front desk of the library, or if the library is closed use the book drop to the right of the front doors. This is especially important if you are headed off campus for May term. Any questions about your books and their due dates? Contact us at library@goshen.edu. -- Abby

Shipping News

Ever wonder how your European ancestors got to the United States? The Mennonite Historical Library has volumes of Passenger Lists, including the names of the ships and the dates of travel! Ships left from different ports and made multiple stops. Actually, just paging through the ship manifests is fun--see the names and ages of passengers and the towns or districts from where they came. Staff can help you identify your immigrant ancestors’ names and show you how to use an online database like Ancestry.com to find names and locations. Maybe you’ll find you have royalty in your genealogy!? Visit the Mennonite Historical Library on the third floor of the Good Library, -- Beth 

Poetry Unbound 

Need a moment of time to stop and reflect on the world? I certainly do, and one of my favorite ways to do that is by listening to Poetry Unbound, a radio program hosted by Irish poet and author Pádraig Ó Tuama. Listen to a wonderful voice read a contemporary poem, reflect on it, and then read it again. Each episode is about ten minutes of unhurried time for contemplation. If listening isn’t your preference, there are also full transcripts of each episode. -- Tillie

April 30, 2021

Need a Break from Reality? (In Four Parts)

So the paper you’re trying to write is threatening you with a pounding migraine? Take a break with another one of these four long-running and reliable Fantasy Online Comics and give your brain some rest and relaxation.

Part Three: Wilde Life is the story of one Oscar Wilde (no, not that one) who moves to a small town in the Midwest on a sudden whim to change his life. But this “ordinary” town is anything but Ordinary! It’s a good thing Oscar’s okay with the ghost “haunting” his new home--And that’s just for starters. If you’ve always wanted a Teen-Age Werewolf for a friend, this comic’s for you! -- Esther

News from the Past

Ever wonder what your Goshen College alumni relatives did when they were here? Curious about events during a certain year? Staff in the Mennonite Historical Library can help you peruse the stacks of Goshen College Records and other publications to see when Men’s Volleyball started, who the baseball players were in 2001, how short the basketball team uniform shorts were in 1985 and who directed the choirs in 1969. -- Beth

May Madness is Back

Every year you wait with bated breath for the librarians to unleash their wacky, weird and otherwise worldly out of context quotes upon you. Well good news to our legions of fans, once again you can determine the fates of 16 quotes taken away from their contexts and forced to compete against each other for your enjoyment. How to participate you ask? Easy, my dear reader, just follow along in the Communicator to vote every week day during May term. -- Abby

Summer Reading

Need a book to enjoy for the summer? Take a look at our Summer Reads book display on the wall next to the front desk. Feel free to take one (or more) to check out for the summer! --Kelsey

Types of Scientific Papers

Academic writing is a wide field that varies from discipline to discipline. This comic by XKCD really captures some of the best types of papers, including these titles: “We figured out how to make this exotic material, so email us if you need some,” “This task I had to do anyway turned out to be hard enough for its own paper,” and “Check out this weird thing one of us saw while out for a walk.” Read the full comic here. -- Abby

May 7, 2021

Poetry Contest Winners

Thanks to everyone who submitted a poem to our contest for National Poetry Month in April. While there were a lot of great poems, we ended up selecting one winner and two runners-up. 

First place - Laura Miller “Lessons From a Frog”

Second place - Caleb Shenk “Caminante Reflection”

Third place - Peace Muhagachi “Blackout Poem”

To read the winning poems, check out our Instagram @goodlibrary or stop by the library. -- Abby

Melanin Library

The Melanin Library is a curated collection of books by Black authors that feature Black and Brown main characters. Developed by author and publisher Chelsea Lockhart, the collection includes (of course) books by Lockhart’s publishing company, but also a wide range of black authors beyond the Melanin Publishing. Lockhart also has a great YouTube channel with book reviews and interviews. -- Eric

Songs from the ages

The Mennonite Historical Library has a wide variety of religious songbooks dating back centuries! Musicians out there would enjoy seeing what people were singing in the 1600’s as well as hymnals from other denominations. Curator Joe Springer is well-versed (ha!) in knowledge of old Ausbunds (the hymn book still used by the Amish). We also have the current magazine “Hearts and Voices”, featuring new hymns and other songs, and tips about how to write them. Does anyone remember the Medical Mission Sisters? How about Daybreak? Additionally we have the songbooks from the Mennonite World Conferences, in many languages! Come, find a new song to sing! -- Beth

Want to read the New York Times for free?

Guess what you can! All Goshen College students, staff, faculty (and retired faculty) can sign up for a free digital subscription to the New York Times. All non-students do need to renew their account annually, so take a look and sign-up today. -- Abby 

Beleaf in yourself!

As a new-ish plant parent, I’ve been finding so many great plant resources and activities! For some light reading and tips on how to reuse your veggies, check out Regrow Your Veggies (FYI, green onions are so easy and fast!).  For tips on how to take care of and propagate your favorite plants, definitely have a look at Plant Parenting. For fun, try the Terrarium app to grow all your favorite digital plants, fruits, and veggies. And lastly, if you are already a lover and owner of plants but can’t ever remember how or how often to water them, check out the Planta app to start a schedule with notifications! -- Kelsey