It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
1. Put in the title of the book followed by the author's name into the Goshen College Good Library catalog search box to the right. (Note: this is the same search box that is in the middle of the screen on the library's homepage.)
Search tips if you are stuck
Use as much of the title as possible but avoid the punctuation.Example ... "What to do?: Choices to make" should be searched as "What to do choices to make"
Use quotes around the title, especially if the title uses the words and,or,not.Example ... "To be or not to be a study of Hamlet"
Add the author's last name to your search string but make sure the name is outside of the quotes. Example ... "Where the wild things are" Sendak
Avoid using middle names or initials. Example ... "Eye for an eye" by William Ian Miller should be searched as ... "Eye for an eye" william miller
2. Once you get your search results, on the left side, under "Format", click on Article/Chapter .
BOOK REVIEW INDEXES
Located in the Reference Room:
Book Review Index (1965-2014) [A good place to start.]
Index of reviews in humanities and social sciences
(indexes Books and Culture)
Book Review Digest (1905-1983)
Index of mainly popular magazines
Go to Advanced Search.
Type book title in quotation marks.
Limit your results under Document
Type to "Book Review" ("Review
of book" in RILM; "Review" in ATLA).
- Indexes New York Times Book Review and New York Review of Books since 1989, neither full text. (For NYTRoB full text, find microfiche or print in library.)
- Indexes New York Review of Books since 1989. Use ILL for actual review.
- Indexes London Review of Books since 2001. Use ILL for actual review.
- Indexes Booklist since 8/93; full text since 1/2002
- Indexes TLS (Times Literary Supplement) since 1990. (For full text since 1997, find print in the library. For reviews 1976-1996, use interlibrary loan.)