Professionally developed subject encyclopedia collection. Similar to Wikipedia yet with articles written by known subject experts.
Credo Reference is a multidisciplinary collection of subject encyclopedias and dictionaries. Developed with beginning researchers in mind, it includes resources to help develop search terms, as well as bibliographies that directly link to the library catalog. A strength is the robust quality of the articles written, while a weakness is that it is missing obscure topics. Subscription.
Full text academic journals and ebooks in theatre and dance.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text contains performing arts trade publications, magazines, journals and ebooks. The collection includes around 200 journals and magazines and 350 ebooks. Good for searching and browsing the current major performing arts literature. INSPIRE.
Academic journal and specialized magazine articles in the humanities published after 1984.
Humanities Full Text contains around 700 scholarly journals and specialized magazines in areas including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy and religion. Includes full text from 1995 to present with indexing from 1984 to present. Great for current broad scholarship in the humanities, although lacks older indexing and full text for more exhaustive literature reviews. INSPIRE.
This unique resource covers classic and historical plays, along with the works of contemporary playwrights. Play Index covers new editions and translations, and includes descriptive annotations to summarize the plot and indicate musical requirements.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 350 publications (and selected coverage of nearly 300), as well as full text for more than 100 journals and nearly 100 books.
Full-text of core academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. It's entire collection contains around 2,000 journals, although local access will vary. These are subscriptions, and chosen individually, so each collection will reflect the focus of the institution. The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues. Subscription.
This collection of historical American newspapers can serve as a great place to find primary sources on historical events. It contains 5 separate collections that cover 1691-1877.
Broad collection of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. A great starting point for any topic!
Academic Search Complete contains 18,000+ multidisciplinary titles indexed and abstracted (16,000+ are peer-reviewed) and 9,000+ full-text publications. Strength and weakness: very broad, so searchers are likely to find results, but may be overwhelmed by quantity. INSPIRE.
Queen's University Library Drama and Theater Image Collection List
The Queen's University Library has put together a comprehensive list of Image Collections from museums, galleries, and other collections. NOTE: the databases listed here will not work as they do not belong to GC!
Good Library Search
Search for an item at Good Library:
Use this search to track down specific references.
Remember the Library and Relevancy toggle
You can Interlibrary Loan as many books and articles as you need
American newspaper covering all current events. Free individual digital subscriptions for members of the GC community, for details visit https://libraryguides.goshen.edu/nytimes.
The University of Oxford Text Archive develops, collects, catalogues and preserves electronic literary and linguistic resources (including plays) for use in Higher Education, in research, teaching and learning.
a multimedia anthology selected from various Library of Congress holdings. Included are 334 English- and Yiddish-language playscripts, 146 theater playbills and programs, 61 motion pictures, 10 sound recordings and 143 photographs and 29 memorabilia items documenting the life and career of Harry Houdini.
Created by the research department of the League of American Theatres and Producers, IBDB is the official database for Broadway theater information from the beginning until the present.
HowlRound is a free and open platform for theatremakers worldwide that amplifies progressive, disruptive ideas about the art form and facilitates connection between diverse practitioners.
American Theatre magazine is the nation’s only general-circulation magazine devoted to theatre. NOTE: the archives presented here are NOT complete. Currently the indexed run is from ~2012 to present, which means that you do not know what is in the issues prior to 2012. HOWEVER, you can search, and articles from issues prior to 2012 will appear in the results.
American Theatre magazine is the nation’s only general-circulation magazine devoted to theatre. This link will enable you to perform a search of the periodical.
High-quality scans of renderings and sketches produced by the Motley Group (Margaret Harris, her sister Sophia Harris, and Elizabeth Montgomery) from 1932 to 1976. Search the entire collection, or browse by specific play or theater.
