Home - PSYCH 210-SW Developmental Psychology (Amanda Sensenig) - Spring 2023 - Harold & Wilma Good Library at Goshen College

E-encyclopedias

CREDO is a good way to get started...While it may be okay to occasionally cite from academic encyclopedias and dictionaries, you should be using these sources to A) get a background understanding to a subject and B) find other academic / scholarly sources, which you can use in your paper.

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
Professionally developed subject encyclopedia collection. Similar to Wikipedia yet with articles written by known subject experts.
Credo Reference is a multidisciplinary collection of subject encyclopedias and dictionaries. Developed with beginning researchers in mind, it includes resources to help develop search terms, as well as bibliographies that directly link to the library catalog. A strength is the robust quality of the articles written, while a weakness is that it is missing obscure topics. Subscription.

Databases

DIRECTIONS: Choose EBSCO --> Click on the checkbox next to PsycArticles, PsychINFO, Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection. (This allows you to search all three databases at the same time!)

Tip 1: You can use the limiters to the left for things dates, peer review, and full text.

Tip 2: Note the citation button!

Tip 3: You can save articles or email them to yourself!

Tip 4: If we do not have an item, we will get it from another library for you. Just click on the InterLibrary Loan button. Articles will be emailed to you in 3-4 days.

EBSCO This link opens in a new window
35 EBSCO databases in a wide range of disciplines
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage from scholarly journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes journal articles. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
APA PsycArticles is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health and is produced by the American Psychological Association. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages. Includes full text and indexed content. Available from multiple vendors. Subscription.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for scholarly psychology books and articles. Some have full text.
APA PsycInfo is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health and is produced by the American Psychological Association. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.Focuses on indexed content. Strength is the breadth and depth of content. Available from multiple vendors. Subscription.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text academic journals in psychology and counseling.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection is a resource of scholarly journals in psychology and counseling. The collection includes around 500 full text titles. Good for initial academic research in psychology, although limited in scope compared to other sources for behavioral science and mental health literature.