Harold & Wilma Good Library: REL 205: Religion in America (Professor Nickel, Spring 2024): General Sources and Statistics

Understanding the Basics

Before you launch into your paper with a thesis ready to be proven, make sure your foundational information is correct! This page links to a variety of sources that will give you good overviews on Islam and related topics that will make sure you are starting your essay with accurate information. This may seem like too much effort, but ultimately it will make your research faster, writing easier, and argument more effective.

United States Statistics

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is a U.S. national data and mapping tool that combines a curated, comprehensive geographic data library with simple, robust mapping and analytics tools. University faculty, researchers, and students use it to create compelling maps of up to five layers, export trend charts with key benchmarks, download data for use in other tools, generate on-the-fly reports, and upload your own data to view it with ours. Learn more at our Policy Map guide.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics on the internet's leading statistics database.

Data and Statistics About the U.S. (usa.gov)
Statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies.
Explore Census Data
Interactive, searchable Internet database that provides population, housing, industry and business statistics from the U.S. Census.
StatsAmerica
Data items from dozens of federal and state sources, can search by county or city/town/village.
Historical Statistics
U.S. population, immigration, business, political and social statistics from the 19th & 20th century.

General Religion

Association of Religion Data Archives
Hosted by Penn State University, ARDA strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Data included on the site is submitted by the foremost religion scholars and research centers in the world.
Bible Gateway
Bible Gateway is a searchable online Bible in more than 200 versions and 70 languages that you can freely read, research, and reference anywhere. With a library of audio Bibles, a mobile app, devotionals, email newsletters, and other free resources, Bible Gateway equips you not only to read the Bible, but to understand it.

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
Professionally developed subject encyclopedia collection. Similar to Wikipedia yet with articles written by known subject experts.
Credo Reference is a multidisciplinary collection of subject encyclopedias and dictionaries. Developed with beginning researchers in mind, it includes resources to help develop search terms, as well as bibliographies that directly link to the library catalog. A strength is the robust quality of the articles written, while a weakness is that it is missing obscure topics. Subscription.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reporting on issues in the news; pro-con essays from experts

Fast Facts about American Religion
Hartford Seminary's Hartford Institute for Religion Research has a thirty-five year record of rigorous, policy-relevant research, anticipation of emerging issues and commitment to the creative dissemination of learning. This record has earned the Institute an international reputation as an important bridge between the scholarly community and the practice of faith.
Patheos
Patheos offers a global dialogue about religion and spirituality and is a place to find credible and balanced information about religion.
PBS Religion & Ethics Newsweekly
This program provides distinctive, cutting-edge news coverage and analysis of national and international events in the ever-changing religious world. It examines religion’s role — and the ethical dimensions — behind top news headlines.

Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Topics are covered in an overview, and materials are presented that support or oppose various sides of an argument.
Points of View Reference Center covers hundreds of topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Find diverse international perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, literature, business, economics, criminal justice and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, image editions, web-editions, trade journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, video content. Includes 144 Indiana news sources, along with approximately 12,000 other sources from around the world.

Virtual Religion Index
This site is designed to advance research in matters of religion. It analyzes and highlights important content of religion-related websites to help make research more efficient.
Sacred Text Archive
The largest freely available archive of online books about religion, mythology, folklore and the esoteric on the Internet. The site is dedicated to religious tolerance and scholarship.

Christianity

Catholic Research Resources Alliance
The Catholic Research Resources Portal, or "Catholic Portal," provides global, freely available access to rare, unique and/or uncommon materials in libraries, seminaries, special collections and archives. By electronically bringing together resources in many formats from many collections, the Portal enables easy, effective and global discovery of Catholic research resources.
Catholic Saints
This site has information on topics related to patron saints, and profiles of those saints. The profiles contain portraits, biographical information, areas of patronage, prayers, links to related sites, readings, and more.
Early Christian Writings
Browse by range of dates or by category, including New Testament, Apocrypha, Gnostics, Church Fathers or Other, or use the search box.
Global Christianity – A Report on the Size and Distribution of the World’s Christian Population
A comprehensive demographic study of more than 200 countries finds that there are 2.18 billion Christians of all ages around the world, representing nearly a third of the estimated 2010 global population of 6.9 billion.
Post-Reformation Digital Library
The PRDL is a select database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.). Late medieval and patristic works printed and referenced in the early modern era are also included. The PRDL is a project of the Junius Institute for Digital Reformation Research.
Virtual Religion Index: Christian Tradition
A list of helpful resources about Christianity.

Islam

A Brief Illustrated Guide to Understanding Islam
This guide is for non-Muslims who would like to understand Islam, Muslims, and the Quran. It is full of information, references, bibliography, and illustrations, but is easy to read.
Islamic Arts Magazine
IslamicArtsMagazine.com is a modern online magazine devoted to Islamic art. By presenting Islamic art to specialists and the general public, they aim to contribute to a better understanding of Islamic culture. The topics range from traditional to contemporary Islamic art and cover all media.
Islamic Philosophy Online
This site offers hundreds of books and articles about Islamic philosophy, ranging from classic texts to modern works.
Islamic Society of North America
Offers services, programs, and leadership opportunities for Muslims living in North America. It is the largest national Muslim organization in the USA.
The Religion of Islam
Provides articles, videos, and information to educate people about the Islamic religion.
Understanding Islam
Explaining Islam in Light of the Qur'an and the Sunnah of the Prophet Muhammad.
Virtual Religion Index: Islamic Studies
A list of helpful resources about the Islamic religion.

Other Religions

All About Sikhs: Your Gateway to Sikhism
An introduction to Sikhism, including the history of the religion, philosophy, prayers, and more.
The Bahá’í Faith
The official website of the worldwide Bahá’í community.
The Center of Traditional Taoist Studies
The Center of Traditional Taoist Studies is a theological and educational institute dedicated to the dissemination of Taoist teachings in the USA and throughout the world. The Center’s education program includes traditional Taoist theology and philosophy, physical wellness, Taoist shaman practices and meditation.
Images of Shinto: A Beginner's Pictorial Guide
This webpage provides explanations of Shinto for beginners.
An Introduction to the Bahá'í Faith
This site provides an introduction to the Baha'i religion and links to useful resources.
Sikhism, Religion of the Sikh People
This website is intended to be a reference learning resource about Sikhism for Sikhs and non-Sikhs alike. Here you will find information about the belief system, development, history and practices of the Sikh religion. Also included is a complete English translation of Sri Guru Granth Sahib, the Sikh Scripture.
Taoism and the Philosophy of Tai Chi Chuan
An overview of Taoism, its history and principles.

Trends, Statistics, and Demographics

Religion Statistics from Statista
Compiled religion statistics by Statista
American Religious Identification Survey (ARIS)
The ARIS time series tracks changes in the religious loyalties of the American public. It comprises a set of three large replicate, representative, national surveys of adults in the continental U.S.A. (48 states & DC) in 1990, 2001 and 2008.
Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
Data on American and international religion using online features for generating national profiles, GIS maps, church membership overviews, denominational heritage trees, and other reports. Over 450 surveys and other data collections available preview and almost all can be downloaded.
Barna Group
Variety of statistics focused on the intersection of faith and culture.
Hartford Institute for Religion Research
The institute focuses on research, communication, education, and consultation.
Pew Forum on Religion and Public Life / Religious Landscape Survey
The Pew Forum conducts surveys, demographic analyses and other social science research on important aspects of religion and public life in the U.S. and around the world. The U.S. Religious Landscape Survey provides detailed data on denominational and religious affiliations of people living in the United States.
Public Religion Research Institute
Nonprofit, nonpartisan organization dedicated to research at the intersection of religion, values, and public life.
U.S. Religion Census: Religious Congregations & Membership Study
This study gives a picture of county-level religious affiliation nationwide.

Buddhism

Access to Insight
A website dedicated to providing accurate, reliable, and useful information concerning the practice and study of Theravada Buddhism.
Buddhist Digital Resource Center
This nonprofit organization is dedicated to seeking out, preserving, documenting, and disseminating Buddhist literature. They provide scholars, translators, Buddhist practitioners, and the general public with access to an unparalleled collection of Buddhist texts.
DharmaNet
Buddhist teachings, books, audio files, and a learning resource center.
Digital Dictionary of Buddhism
DDB is a compilation of terms, texts, temple, schools, persons, etc. found in Buddhist canonical sources, translated from Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and Vietnamese into English.
International Association of Buddhist Studies
IABS is a learned society dedicated to promoting and supporting scholarship in Buddhist Studies in a spirit of non-sectarian tolerance and with scientific research and communication as preeminent objectives. Membership is open to scholars of all academic disciplines.
Resources for the Study of Buddhism
Resources compiled by former professor Ron Epstein.
Virtual Religion Index: Buddhist Studies
A list of helpful resources about the Buddhist religion.

Hinduism

Early Hinduism
Meet the gods and goddesses of early Hinduism, by the British Museum.
The Heart of Hinduism
The Heart of Hinduism website is based closely on the Heart of Hinduism textbook, used widely in UK schools. It is a description of the Hindu tradition produced by practitioners of the tradition.
Hinduism Today
This online magazine offers a variety of articles, news, and educational information about Hinduism.
The Oxford Centre for Hindu Studies
OCHS is an academy for the study of Hindu cultures, societies, philosophies, religions, and languages, in all periods and in all parts of the world. Their website offers online courses, lectures, and information about the religion.
Virtual Religion Index: Hindu Studies
A list of helpful resources about the Hindu religion.

Judaism

Holocaust Center of Pittsburgh
The Holocaust Center of Pittsburgh connects the horrors of the Holocaust and antisemitism with injustices of today. Through education, the Holocaust Center seeks to address these injustices and empower individuals to build a more civil and humane society.
Holocaust Encyclopedia
From the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum.
Jewish Digital Collections and Study Guides
A variety of links, organized by category, for a wide array of Jewish Digital Collections and Jewish Studies Guides.
The Jewish Guide to the Internet
An online directory of Jewish websites.
The Jewish History Resource Center
This site contains over 6340 links to websites in more than 30 categories dealing with Jewish History, and is managed by The Dinur Center for Research in Jewish History at The Hebrew University of Jerusalem.
Jewish Virtual Library
The JVL is your source for information about Jewish history, Israel, U.S.-Israel relations, the Holocaust, anti-Semitism and Judaism. The JVL currently has more than 25,000 articles and 10,000 images and is accessed by users in more than 230 countries and territories worldwide.
Jewish Women's Archive
A national organization dedicated to collecting and promoting the extraordinary stories of Jewish women. JWA explores the past as a framework for understanding the issues important to women today; inspires young people with remarkable role models; and uses Jewish women’s stories to excite people to see themselves as agents of change.
Judaism 101
This page answers frequently asked questions about Jews and Judaism in plain English.
The National Library of Israel
The National Library aims to collect, preserve, cultivate and endow the treasures of knowledge, heritage and culture in general, with an emphasis on the Land of Israel, the State of Israel and the Jewish people in particular. Discover books, music, photographs, articles, maps, recordings, and more.
U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum
A living memorial to the Holocaust, the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum inspires citizens and leaders worldwide to confront hatred, prevent genocide, and promote human dignity.
The Virtual Beit Midrash
Publications, information and free online courses in Judaism and Torah for students of all ages.
Virtual Religion Index: Jewish Studies
A list of helpful resources about the Jewish religion.