Extensive listing of medical scholarly journal articles compiled by the U.S. government, some available full text.
MEDLINE is an index of life sciences and biomedical research developed and supported by the U.S. National Institutes of Health. It lists 27 million sources from 1966 to the present with robust search functions including an up to date thesaurus of words and phrases that represent subjects in the medical field. A strength is its extensiveness and selectivity of medical research, while a weakness is its limited options for full text (approximately 15% of the collection is full text). INSPIRE.
Extensive listing of medical journals articles compiled by the U.S. government.
--PubMed Tutorial
PubMed is an index of life sciences and biomedical research developed and supported by the U.S. National Institutes of Health. The core of the PubMed collection is MEDLINE. It lists 30 million sources from 1809 to the present (only selected sources prior to 1966) with robust search functions including a thesaurus of works and phrases that represent subjects in the medical field. A strength is its extensiveness and selectivity of medical research, while a weakness is its limited options for full text. Free.
PolicyMap is a U.S. national data and mapping tool that combines a curated, comprehensive geographic data library with simple, robust mapping and analytics tools. University faculty, researchers, and students use it to create compelling maps of up to five layers, export trend charts with key benchmarks, download data for use in other tools, generate on-the-fly reports, and upload your own data to view it with ours. Learn more at our Policy Map guide.
Broad collection of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. A great starting point for any topic!
Academic Search Complete contains 18,000+ multidisciplinary titles indexed and abstracted (16,000+ are peer-reviewed) and 9,000+ full-text publications. Strength and weakness: very broad, so searchers are likely to find results, but may be overwhelmed by quantity. INSPIRE.
Starting research point for education research, from preschool to college.
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an index of education research developed and supported by the U.S. Department of Education. It lists 1.5 million sources dating from 1966 to the present, with robust search functions including a thesaurus of works and phrases that represent subjects in the field of education. A strength is its extensiveness and selectivity of English language education research, while a weakness is its limited options for full text. INSPIRE.
A comprehensive resource for scholarly psychology books and articles. Some have full text.
APA PsycInfo is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health and is produced by the American Psychological Association. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.Focuses on indexed content. Strength is the breadth and depth of content. Available from multiple vendors. Subscription.
