Harold & Wilma Good Library: Secondary Education Library Guide: Home

Welcome to the Secondary Education Library Guide

Please use this guide to find quality resources in your discipline. All of these resources focus on discipline-specific curriculum and instruction and have been reviewed for their quality. If you identify sources that you think should be on this list, send that information to Suzanne Ehst, Director of Secondary Education, at sehst@goshen.edu.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Broad collection of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. A great starting point for any topic!
Academic Search Complete contains 18,000+ multidisciplinary titles indexed and abstracted (16,000+ are peer-reviewed) and 9,000+ full-text publications. Strength and weakness: very broad, so searchers are likely to find results, but may be overwhelmed by quantity. INSPIRE.
ERIC - Education Resource Information Center
Starting research point for education research, from preschool to college.
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an index of education research developed and supported by the U.S. Department of Education. It lists 1.5 million sources dating from 1966 to the present, with robust search functions including a thesaurus of works and phrases that represent subjects in the field of education. A strength is its extensiveness and selectivity of English language education research, while a weakness is its limited options for full text. INSPIRE.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Professional Development Collection contains professional development resources for educators with 500 scholarly journals and 230 professional reports.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for 280 teacher and administrator journals and magazines

General Secondary Education Books

Academic conversations : classroom talk that fosters critical thinking and content understandings by Jeff Zwiers; Marie Crawford
Call Number: LB1590.3 .Z94 2011
ISBN: 9781571108845
Publication Date: 2011
Belonging and becoming : the power of social and emotional learning in high schools by Barbara Cervone; Kathleen Cushman
Call Number: HQ783 .C458 2015
ISBN: 1612508510
Publication Date: 2015

General Education Journals

Multicultural Perspectives
Full text online: 1999 to 18 months ago
Promotes the philosophy of social justices, equity and inclusion. It celebrates cultural and ethnic diversity as a national strength that enriches society.
Radical Teacher
Full Text Online: 1975 to Present
Dedicated to the theory & practice of teaching. Serves educators who are working for democratic process, peace, & justice. Examines the root causes of inequality & promotes progressive social change.