Broad collection of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. A great starting point for any topic!
Academic Search Complete contains 18,000+ multidisciplinary titles indexed and abstracted (16,000+ are peer-reviewed) and 9,000+ full-text publications. Strength and weakness: very broad, so searchers are likely to find results, but may be overwhelmed by quantity. INSPIRE.
Full-text articles from a variety of sources in myriad languages. Particularly useful when you have a citation and need to find the full-text.
Directory of Open Access Journals provides a directory of open access peer-reviewed journals (and open access articles in hybrid journals). Can search journal metadata or article metadata. Includes many languages. Turn on in KB but not on your A-Z list. Free.
Full-text of core academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. It's entire collection contains around 2,000 journals, although local access will vary. These are subscriptions, and chosen individually, so each collection will reflect the focus of the institution. The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues. Subscription.
News, law cases and reviews, and company financial information.
NexisUni provides news, legal, and company information. News sources include newspapers and news wire services worldwide. Legal information includes court decisions and law journals. Company information includes financials, SEC filings, and legal cases. Subscription.
WHAT TYPE OF SOURCE IS IT?
What types of sources does your professor or research require -- scholarly, professional, general interest, news, popular, etc.?
Use this CHART to determine what type your source is and to evaluate its credibility.