Google Scholar

My library is a feature in Google Scholar that allows you to save articles from your search results for reading, printing, or citing at a later time. It works with any existing Google account, so you don’t have to create or maintain another login. (If you have multiple Google accounts, you’ll want to pay attention to which account is signed in when you save articles!)

While you are viewing search results and signed into your Google account, just click the star under the article you’d like to save. It will turn dark blue.

Once you’ve saved a few articles, you can click the “My library” link in the upper right hand corner of the screen to view them in a list.  You can search the list or label them with a topic or assignment.

“Google Scholar Metrics provide an easy way for authors to quickly gauge the visibility and influence of recent articles in scholarly publications. Scholar Metrics summarize recent citations to many publications, to help authors as they consider where to publish their new research.” - Google Scholar Metrics Overview
 
“Scholar Metrics cover a substantial fraction of scholarly articles published in the last five years. However, they don't currently cover a large number of articles from smaller publications.” - Coverage of Publications
 
“Scholar Metrics only include publications with at least a hundred articles in the last five years” No court opinions, patents, books, dissertations or publications that received no citations in the last five years are included. - Inclusion and Corrections
 
Metrics: Metrics allows you to browse top publications based on citation metrics, the five year h-index and h-median metrics.
 
https://scholar.google.com/intl/en/scholar/metrics.html#metrics
                                                    
My profile: To set up your profile as an author, make sure you are logged to Google Scholar with your Google Account credentials first. For quick set-up, click on the Get Started button on the Google Scholar Citations help page to start adding citations. After you have completed setting up your profile and adding an affiliation and research interests, your publications list and citations will appear when you login to Google Scholar.
 
Citations: By setting up your profile, you can track who is citing your publications and see your citation metrics after adding your publications. You can add articles you have written manually by clicking on the “plus” button, and Google will also show you articles that match your name as the author that you can select for your profile.
 
The cited by section of your profile includes a total number of citations to your publications in Google Scholar's index. The h-index is the largest number h such that h publications have at least h citations. The i10-index is the number of publications with at least 10 citations.
 
Authors: To add a paper that is digitally unpublished or a version that is self-published to Google Scholar and subsequently be able to monitor its metrics, upload the full publication document to a website where it is freely accessible and add the link to your personal Google Scholar publications page. The publications should be included in Google Scholar within several weeks.
 
Requirements for a publication for Google Scholar addition:
 
* The document must be a PDF and the file name must end in .pdf
* The title of the paper must be on the first page in a large font
* The authors of the paper must listed on a line immediately below the title line
* There must be a clearly titled bibliography section at the end of the publication (e.g. “References” or “Bibliography”)

To start a literature review, you want to perform a comprehensive search for your topic. Google Scholar indexes articles, abstracts and books from major academic publishers as well as content aggregators such as ProQuest, Gale and JSTOR. Gold open access journal content from academic publishers, both large and small, and Green open access content from institutional and disciplinary repositories are included. Google Scholar limits searches to 1000 results, but the advanced search allows you to search by author, publication and date ranges. You can also track citations by looking up the cited works from a relevant publication by clicking on the Cited by link on each publication in your search results.

Once you’ve set up the My library feature, you can change some of Google Scholar’s default settings. To access the settings, click the three lines in the upper left hand corner of the screen.

Alerts: Google Scholar allows you to receive e-mail notifications for changes in specific search queries. Users with a Google Scholar profile setup will also receive notifications when new articles site your published articles.

Bibliography manager: Located under Settings, then Search results. You can also set up Google Scholar to use a specific citation management program (e.g. EndNote, RefWorks). Just select the one you use, and you’ll get an option in your results list to save the citations specifically formatted for that program.

Library links: Located under Settings. You can also add a link to your library to help find full text available from their journal databases and other subscriptions.

Button: Located under Settings. This browser add-on allows you to search in Google Scholar through your web browser’s URL / search box.