1st: Look in the index for any recent articles on your topic. You might want to search the most recent 5 years. THE DECEMBER ISSUE HAS AN ANNUAL INDEX!!!
Broad collection of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. A great starting point for any topic!
Academic Search Complete contains 18,000+ multidisciplinary titles indexed and abstracted (16,000+ are peer-reviewed) and 9,000+ full-text publications. Strength and weakness: very broad, so searchers are likely to find results, but may be overwhelmed by quantity. INSPIRE.
Full-text coverage from scholarly journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes journal articles. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
APA PsycArticles is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health and is produced by the American Psychological Association. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages. Includes full text and indexed content. Available from multiple vendors. Subscription.
A comprehensive resource for scholarly psychology books and articles. Some have full text.
APA PsycInfo is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health and is produced by the American Psychological Association. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.Focuses on indexed content. Strength is the breadth and depth of content. Available from multiple vendors. Subscription.
Full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences.
Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides the full text of 150 non-open access journals and detailed indexing for over 800 periodicalsthe vast majority are peer-reviewed. Over 220 titles are not held in Academic Search Complete, of these 60 are currently full-text (19 with a 12-month embargo) and about 40 have some full text but stopped over 3 years ago. (H.W. Wilson) INSPIRE.
Great for finding multi-discipline topics, but access to the actual content is complicated. The "Cited By" feature is second to none. Not all content is scholarly.
Good Library Catalog
Search everything Good Library has access to... (books, articles, and electronic resources)
Tips
a) Consult existing literature reviews related to your topic.
Search "literature review" as a keyword anywhere.
This could help shape your topic.
You might find studies relevant to your topic.
b) Note classic and landmark studies.
Certain authors may be mentioned over and over as influential authorities.
Look for articles that have been cited the most times.
