Harold & Wilma Good Library: Core 160: Energy and Environment (Paul Meyer Reimer Fall 2021): Recommended Library Resources

Select Library Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
You will find articles from respectable journals via the web, in databases such as Academic Search Premier.
Academic Search Complete contains 18,000+ multidisciplinary titles indexed and abstracted (16,000+ are peer-reviewed) and 9,000+ full-text publications. Strength and weakness: very broad, so searchers are likely to find results, but may be overwhelmed by quantity. INSPIRE.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Identify government policies that might foster what you feel are more sustainable approaches with regard to your topic.
CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
For Explain the "issues" related to your topic - Describe the idea of your topic. You are choosing one topic to examine critically. State the questions you're investigating and explain (writing for an audience of your peers) what the issues are.
Credo Reference is a multidisciplinary collection of subject encyclopedias and dictionaries. Developed with beginning researchers in mind, it includes resources to help develop search terms, as well as bibliographies that directly link to the library catalog. A strength is the robust quality of the articles written, while a weakness is that it is missing obscure topics. Subscription.
GreenFILE
Listing of scholarly journal articles related to environmental issues.
GreenFILE is a index of scholarly journals focused on environmental issues including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling. A strength of the resource is its depth of coverage and searchability, while a weakness is the limited full text of content. Free.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Find diverse international perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, literature, business, economics, criminal justice and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, image editions, web-editions, trade journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, video content. Includes 144 Indiana news sources, along with approximately 12,000 other sources from around the world.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Describe at least one other country's experience with regard to your topic. Ideally, choose a country which has consciously tried a promising or unusual approach. Some of these are listed in the list of topics. Write about what from their experience might work well (or not so well) if we were to try that in the United States.
Note: For details on how to setup your own subscription to the New York Times via GC, visit http://libraryguides.goshen.edu/nytimes
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, law cases and reviews, and company financial information.
NexisUni provides news, legal, and company information. News sources include newspapers and news wire services worldwide. Legal information includes court decisions and law journals. Company information includes financials, SEC filings, and legal cases. Subscription.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics on the internet's leading statistics database.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Includes complete HTML coverage of The Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition, from 1984 to present. Free digital subscription available here: https://libraryguides.goshen.edu/newspapers/wsj
Also includes access to Wall Street Journal (Online) from 2010 to present and WSJ: the Magazine from the Wall Street Journal from June 2011 to April 2013.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Major US newspaper. Note: 3 day embargo Free digital subscription available here: https://libraryguides.goshen.edu/newspapers/washingtonpost

The Conversation
The Conversation is a nonprofit, independent news organization dedicated to unlocking the knowledge of experts for the public good. We publish trustworthy and informative articles written by academic experts for the general public and edited by our team of journalists.