Home - PSYC 100: General Psychology (Amanda Sensenig) - Fall 2016 - Harold & Wilma Good Library at Goshen College

Credo Reference Online & CQ Researcher

Both of these resources are a good way to get started...

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
Professionally developed subject encyclopedia collection. Similar to Wikipedia yet with articles written by known subject experts.
Credo Reference is a multidisciplinary collection of subject encyclopedias and dictionaries. Developed with beginning researchers in mind, it includes resources to help develop search terms, as well as bibliographies that directly link to the library catalog. A strength is the robust quality of the articles written, while a weakness is that it is missing obscure topics. Subscription.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reporting on issues in the news; pro-con essays from experts

Encyclopedia of Psychology
Call Number: REF BF31.E52 1994
ISBN: 0471558192
Encyclopedia of Psychology
Call Number: REF BF31.E52 2000
ISBN: 1557981876
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior
Call Number: REF BF31.E5 1994
ISBN: 0122269241
Encyclopedia of Family Life
Call Number: REF HQ534.E53 1999
ISBN: 0893569402
Encyclopedia of Human Emotions by David Levinson; James J. Ponzetti
Call Number: Ref BF531.E55 1999
ISBN: 0028647688
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family
Call Number: REF HQ9.E52 2003
ISBN: 0028656725
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
Call Number: REF HQ16.E52 2007
ISBN: 0028659643
Encyclopedia of Learning and Memory
Call Number: REF BF318.E53 1992
ISBN: 0028974085

EBSCO This link opens in a new window
35 EBSCO databases in a wide range of disciplines

You may find the EBSCO interface yields more specific results
With EBSCO, you can choose which databases you want to search. For your class, I would suggest the following...
- Academic Search Premier
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (for some topics)
- ERIC (for some topics)
- Health Source - Consumer Edition (for some topics)
- PsycARTICLES (for all of your topics)
- PsycINFO (for all of your topics)
- Social Sciences Full Text - H.W.Wilson (for all of your topics)
- SocINDEX with Full Text (for all of your topics)
Pay attention to the facets on the side. You can use them to change your results quickly.
You can InterLibrary Loan articles as well if we do not have the full text. The article will usually come in a day or two.

Search for an item at Good Library:

This search will get you both books and articles found in the library.
Use the facets (on the left side of the page) to limit your results like you want. It is common to limit by "article" and "full text".
You can ILL articles as well! We will email you the article.