Harold & Wilma Good Library: NURSING RESEARCH FOR NURS 333, 403, 602, 606, & 607: DATABASES

CINAHL

This tutorial will walk you through searching CINAHL subject headings (also available on the Tutorial & Help tab).

Search by exact subject heading
(select 'MH Exact Subject Heading' from the search window's drop down menu)

Search by keywords
(use the default search; search window will say 'Select a field (optional)'

meta synthesis
classic reference OR classic article
quantitative AND qualitative (use these keywords to search for mixed methods research articles)

CINAHL with Full Text
Nursing and allied health journals; full text from 610 journals

Cochrane Reviews
Summaries to 4,000 reviews on evidence-based practice. Request via interlibrary loan.

MedLine with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Extensive listing of medical scholarly journal articles compiled by the U.S. government, some available full text.
MEDLINE is an index of life sciences and biomedical research developed and supported by the U.S. National Institutes of Health. It lists 27 million sources from 1966 to the present with robust search functions including an up to date thesaurus of words and phrases that represent subjects in the medical field. A strength is its extensiveness and selectivity of medical research, while a weakness is its limited options for full text (approximately 15% of the collection is full text). INSPIRE.
PubMed.gov
Extensive listing of medical journals articles compiled by the U.S. government.
--PubMed Tutorial
PubMed is an index of life sciences and biomedical research developed and supported by the U.S. National Institutes of Health. The core of the PubMed collection is MEDLINE. It lists 30 million sources from 1809 to the present (only selected sources prior to 1966) with robust search functions including a thesaurus of works and phrases that represent subjects in the medical field. A strength is its extensiveness and selectivity of medical research, while a weakness is its limited options for full text. Free.

All EBSCOhost health databases
Search six EBSCOhost health databases from one platform.
PLoS
Public Library of Science. Scientific and medical literature freely available. These citations are also available in PubMed.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for scholarly psychology books and articles. Some have full text.
APA PsycInfo is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health and is produced by the American Psychological Association. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.Focuses on indexed content. Strength is the breadth and depth of content. Available from multiple vendors. Subscription.

Ovid Nursing Journals
Includes full-text (2004-present) of the American Journal of Nursing, Cancer Nursing, the Journal of Nursing Administration, Nurse Educator, and Nursing Research.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reporting on issues in the news; pro-con essays from experts
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Full text for 860 journals dating to 1908, 830 books, and 16,000 conference papers

New to CINAHL? Click the image to walk through this tutorial.

New to PubMed? Click the image to walk through this tutorial.

Another PubMed tutorial: