At Goshen College, much of your Business related academic Research will be found in EBSCO (link below). EBSCO is simply a database with other databases inside of it. A database is a collection of things. In this case, those things happen to be academic research.
Another source to try (outside of EBSCO) is JSTOR (link below). JSTOR is like EBSCO, but the content tends to be a bit older.
Goshen College has just acquired STATISTA. STATISTA is different in that it provides reliable "Reports" about a wide range of subjects with a leaning towards reports that might be of interest to the business researchers.
Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics on the internet's leading statistics database.
Full-text of core academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. It's entire collection contains around 2,000 journals, although local access will vary. These are subscriptions, and chosen individually, so each collection will reflect the focus of the institution. The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues. Subscription.
Broad collection of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. A great starting point for any topic!
Academic Search Complete contains 18,000+ multidisciplinary titles indexed and abstracted (16,000+ are peer-reviewed) and 9,000+ full-text publications. Strength and weakness: very broad, so searchers are likely to find results, but may be overwhelmed by quantity. INSPIRE.
Business related articles and reports. Helpful when looking for company and industry information.
Business Source Complete is a business centric research collection including scholarly journals, business publications, and trade journals, as well as company and industry reports. Unique sources include Harvard Business Review and Marketline reports. A strength of this collection is its wide breadth of content, while a weakness is the lack of in-depth data such as company and industry financials. INSPIRE.
Company profiles, management information, and trade publications; full text from 1,200 business magazines and journals, including Harvard Business Review (1985-present)
Formerly Corporate ResourceNet
OTHER EBSCO DATABASES FROM OTHER FIELDS INCLUDE ....
Full text academic journals in psychology and counseling.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection is a resource of scholarly journals in psychology and counseling. The collection includes around 500 full text titles. Good for initial academic research in psychology, although limited in scope compared to other sources for behavioral science and mental health literature.
Full-text coverage from scholarly journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes journal articles. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
APA PsycArticles is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health and is produced by the American Psychological Association. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages. Includes full text and indexed content. Available from multiple vendors. Subscription.
A comprehensive resource for scholarly psychology books and articles. Some have full text.
APA PsycInfo is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health and is produced by the American Psychological Association. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.Focuses on indexed content. Strength is the breadth and depth of content. Available from multiple vendors. Subscription.
Full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences.
Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides the full text of 150 non-open access journals and detailed indexing for over 800 periodicalsthe vast majority are peer-reviewed. Over 220 titles are not held in Academic Search Complete, of these 60 are currently full-text (19 with a 12-month embargo) and about 40 have some full text but stopped over 3 years ago. (H.W. Wilson) INSPIRE.
Full text for 860 journals dating to 1908, 830 books, and 16,000 conference papers
Business News
Business News
When looking for news related to business, make sure you look for:
The date of publication.
The quality of resource used (typically national journals and newspapers (such as Wall Street Journal) are more trustworthy than online only sources, such as You Tube).
News items are verified by several sources are usually more reliable than "one offs".
QUICK LINKS
Wall Street Journal | At GC you get a FREE digital subscription! WSJ is widely considered the authority when it comes to business related news. We would advocate starting here.
New York Times | At GC you get a FREE digital subscription! NYTIMES is largest and most established newspaper in the United States.
Washington Post | At GC you get a FREE digital subscription! Another national newspaper, particularly good for more in-depth journalism and "breaking" news.
Business Source Complete: a definitive scholarly business database that contains case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
