Harold & Wilma Good Library: Core 160: Energy and Environment (Paul Meyer Reimer Fall 2024): Recommended Library Resources

Select Library Databases

Step 1: Search reference sources

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reporting on issues in the news; pro-con essays from experts
CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
Professionally developed subject encyclopedia collection. Similar to Wikipedia yet with articles written by known subject experts.
Credo Reference is a multidisciplinary collection of subject encyclopedias and dictionaries. Developed with beginning researchers in mind, it includes resources to help develop search terms, as well as bibliographies that directly link to the library catalog. A strength is the robust quality of the articles written, while a weakness is that it is missing obscure topics. Subscription.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics on the internet's leading statistics database.

Step 2: Search newspapers

New York Times This link opens in a new window
American newspaper covering all current events. Free individual digital subscriptions for members of the GC community, for details visit https://libraryguides.goshen.edu/nytimes.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Find diverse international perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, literature, business, economics, criminal justice and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, image editions, web-editions, trade journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, video content. Includes 144 Indiana news sources, along with approximately 12,000 other sources from around the world.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
American business daily newspaper. Free digital subscription available here: https://libraryguides.goshen.edu/newspapers/wsj
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Major US newspaper. Free individual digital subscriptions for members of the GC community, for details go here: https://libraryguides.goshen.edu/newspapers/washingtonpost

The Conversation
The Conversation is a nonprofit, independent news organization dedicated to unlocking the knowledge of experts for the public good. We publish trustworthy and informative articles written by academic experts for the general public and edited by our team of journalists.

Step 3: Search scholarly journals

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Broad collection of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. A great starting point for any topic!
Academic Search Complete contains 18,000+ multidisciplinary titles indexed and abstracted (16,000+ are peer-reviewed) and 9,000+ full-text publications. Strength and weakness: very broad, so searchers are likely to find results, but may be overwhelmed by quantity. INSPIRE.
GreenFILE
Listing of scholarly journal articles related to environmental issues.
GreenFILE is a index of scholarly journals focused on environmental issues including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling. A strength of the resource is its depth of coverage and searchability, while a weakness is the limited full text of content. Free.