A collection of oral histories and primary sources about various ethnic groups in the Columbia River basin that includes territory in seven states (Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Wyoming, and Utah) and one Canadian province.
Focuses on preserving, collecting and interpreting 20th-century Indiana and Midwestern history through the medium of first-person testimony. The interviews are a unique resource for research, education, and documentary projects on a wide range of topics. You can browse interviews alphabetically or contact the Center directly for assistance.
This collection includes personal stories and recollections from a broad range of Americans and on a wide range of topics. You can use the Collections tab to filter to particular topic. This also includes a large number of September 11th stories.
This digital collection of historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the start of the Great Depression.
The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America. (George Mason Univ., Smithsonian National Museum of American History, Brown Univ., and Univ. of Texas El Paso)
Includes historic photographs, documents, newspaper articles, letters, and other primary sources documenting Japanese-American immigration and life before, during, and after World War II. Covers early 1900s-1980s, with a strong focus on the World War II incarceration. (Densho non-profit organization)
[UPDATE: As of Sept 2023, temporarily closed, visit https://collections.mnhs.org/about/feedback for updates] Oral histories from various immigrant groups, including Latino/Hispanic, Karen, Hmong, Khmer, Tibetan, Korean, Filipino, Chinese, Somali, and more. (Minnesota Historical Society)
A large portion of the collection studies the roots of U.S. immigration problems, with photos tracing the paths of immigrants from the docks of various European cities to their arrival at Ellis Island and even, in some instances, to their eventual place of settlement in America. (Catholic Univ. of America)
Tells the stories of early Jewish families who settled the Washington region and the unique Jewish experience in Washington State in subsequent years. Includes personal papers, correspondence, organizational and business records, diaries, oral histories, photographs, and films. (Univ. of Washington)
Find diverse international perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, literature, business, economics, criminal justice and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, image editions, web-editions, trade journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, video content. Includes 144 Indiana news sources, along with approximately 12,000 other sources from around the world.
This is a database covers Indiana history from 1800 to 2017 and is available through Goshen Public Library, which you have access to as a GC student. Your Goshen Public Library barcode is the same as your GC ID barcode. To learn more, visit this website: https://libraryguides.goshen.edu/GPL
The Digital Public Library of America gives you access to over 29 million images, texts, videos and sounds across the United States. You can browse by topic, check out online exhibitions, or check out their primary source sets. They have categories for Colonization and Settlement (1585-1763) and Revolution and the New Nation (1754-1820s).
The Library of Congress has an enormous collection of primary sources on a range of topics, most related to United States history, but they have some global collections too. Consider browsing their digital collections to see if you can find a topic that interests you.
As Black oppression moves again to the forefront of American public life, the history of radical approaches to combating racism has acquired renewed relevance. Collecting, for the first time, source materials from a diverse array of writers and organizers, this reader provides a new perspective on the complex history of revolutionary debates about fighting anti-Black racism. Contextual material from the editor places each contribution in its historical and political setting, making this volume ideal for both scholars and activists
A classroom staple, Immigrant Voices: New Lives in America, 1773-2000 has been updated with writings that reflect trends in immigration to the United States through the turn of the twenty-first century. New chapters include a selection of letters from Irish immigrants fleeing the famine of the 1840s, writings from an immigrant who escaped the civil war in Liberia during the 1980s, and letters that crossed the U.S.-Mexico border during the late 1980s and early '90s. With each addition editor Thomas Dublin has kept to his original goals, which was to show the commonalities of the U.S. immigrant experience across lines of gender, nation of origin, race, and even time.
This text explores the full history of immigration issues in America, from Adriaen van de Donck's description of the New Netherlands in 1650; to the 2012 opinions of Supreme Court Justices Anthony Kennedy and Antonin Scalia on the case of Arizona v. United States concerning states' rights and the enforcement of federal immigration laws; to the 2016 Supreme Court decision in United States v. Texas
This is a resource on racism and segregation in American life. The book is chronologically organized into five sections, each of which focuses on a different historical period in the story of Jim Crow: inventing, building, living, resisting, and dismantling.
Memories of Belonging is a three-generation oral-history study of the offspring of southern Italians who migrated to Worcester, Massachusetts, in 1913. Supplemented with the interviewees' private documents and working from U.S. and Italian archives, author Christa Wirth documents a century of transatlantic migration, assimilation, and later-generation self-identification. Her research reveals how memories of migration, everyday life, and ethnicity are passed down through the generations, altered, and contested while constituting family identities. The fact that not all descendants of Italian migrants moved into the U.S. middle class, combined with their continued use of hyphenated identities, points to a history of lived ethnicity and societal exclusion. Moreover, this book demonstrates the extent of forgetting that is required in order to construct an ethnic identity
Drawing upon a personal collection of more than 300 letters exchanged between her parents and other family members across the U.S.-Mexico border, Miroslava Chávez-García recreates and gives meaning to the hope, fear, and longing migrants experienced in their everyday lives both "here" and "there" ("aquí y allá"). As private sources of communication hidden from public consumption and historical research, the letters provide a rare glimpse into the deeply emotional, personal, and social lives of ordinary Mexican men and women as recorded in their immediate, firsthand accounts. Chávez-García demonstrates not only how migrants struggled to maintain their sense of humanity in "El Norte" but also how those remaining at home made sense of their changing identities in response to the loss of loved ones who sometimes left for weeks, months, or years at a time, or simply never returned.
Many black soldiers serving in the U.S. Army during World War II hoped that they might make permanent gains as a result of their military service and their willingness to defend their country. They were soon disabused of such illusions. Taps for a Jim Crow Army is a powerful collection of letters written by black soldiers in the 1940s to various government and nongovernment officials. The soldiers expressed their disillusionment, rage, and anguish over the discrimination and segregation they experienced in the Army. Most black troops were denied entry into army specialist schools; black officers were not allowed to command white officers; black soldiers were served poorer food and were forced to ride Jim Crow military buses into town and to sit in Jim Crow base movie theaters. In the South, German POWs could use the same latrines as white American soldiers, but blacks could not.
Unbound Voices brings together the voices of Chinese American women in a fascinating, intimate collection of documents--letters, essays, poems, autobiographies, speeches, testimonials, and oral histories--detailing half a century of their lives in America. Together, these sources provide a captivating mosaic of Chinese women's experiences in their own words, as they tell of making a home for themselves and their families in San Francisco from the Gold Rush years through World War II.The personal nature of these documents makes for compelling reading. We hear the voices of prostitutes and domestic slavegirls, immigrant wives of merchants, Christians and pagans, homemakers, and social activists alike. We read the stories of daughters who confronted cultural conflicts and racial discrimination; the myriad ways women coped with the Great Depression; and personal contributions to the causes of women's emancipation, Chinese nationalism, workers' rights, and World War II. The symphony of voices presented here lends immediacy and authenticity to our understanding of the Chinese American women's lives.This rich collection of women's stories also serves to demonstrate collective change over time as well as to highlight individual struggles for survival and advancement in both private and public spheres. An educational tool on researching and reclaiming women's history, Unbound Voices offers us a valuable lesson on how one group of women overcame the legacy of bound feet and bound lives in America. The selections are accompanied by photographs, with extensive introductions and annotation by Judy Yung, a noted authority on primary resources relating to the history of Chinese American women