CORE 187 The poetry of Hip Hop (Fall 2024)

EBSCO (EBSCO Host) is a collection of databases containing peer review articles. Peer review articles are scholarly and academic sources which:

• Are written by and for faculty, researchers or scholars (chemists, historians, doctors, artists, etc.)
• Use scholarly or technical language
• Articles tend to be long and detailed, about research in a particular academic discipline
• Include full citations for sources
• Are often refereed or peer-reviewed
• Include information about the authors
• Are published by academic organizations
• Note: book reviews and editorials are not considered scholarly articles, even when found in scholarly journals

EBSCO Host peer review articles are organized by subject area. Here are a few key databases:

• Academic Search Premier: multi-disciplinary
• Business Source Complete: business
• CINAHL with Full Text: nursing
• MLA International Bibliography: English
• PsycARTICLES: psychology

EBSCO Host is a great place for college level research after you have your background information. Articles not available "full-text" in EBSCO can be obtained through interlibrary loan free of charge.

JSTOR is a collection of scholarly journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. It's entire collection contains around 2,000 journals. The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues.

• The browse contents by subject feature is particularly useful!  Click on Browse --> By Subject