"The Archives of American Art has one of the oldest and most respected oral history collections in the country. Since 1958, our Oral History Program has preserved the distinct voices and human memory of the American art world in more than 2,300 interviews. The purpose of the Archives’ Oral History Program is to create unique, lengthy exchanges between interviewers and narrators, conversations that yield a richness of detail and a sense of character not available in other primary sources. These recordings chronicle the great diversity of the American art scene, augmenting and refining our perception of individual artists, dealers, critics, and curators and their social and professional worlds. Common themes, such as artists' educational backgrounds, working methods, sources of inspiration, technical innovations, and issues of patronage emerge across artistic mediums and across generations." - description from website
Hear the story of the Japanese American incarceration experience from those who lived it, and find thousands of historic photographs, documents, newspapers, letters and other primary source materials from immigration to the WWII incarceration and its aftermath.
Focuses on preserving, collecting and interpreting 20th-century Indiana and Midwestern history through the medium of first-person testimony. The interviews are a unique resource for research, education, and documentary projects on a wide range of topics. You can browse interviews alphabetically or contact the Center directly for assistance.
The mission of the Museum’s Oral History Initiative is to document, preserve, and interpret African American stories through the art and practice of oral history. They collect and preserve oral histories from iconic elders of African Americana and others who have shaped the culture in significant ways. They also develop oral history projects that support the research and exhibition goals of the Museum.
"Since its founding in 1969 at Yale University, Oral History of American Music (OHAM) has been dedicated to the collection and preservation of the voices of the major musical figures of our time. The project captures musicians’ narratives and reflections in their own words through in-depth interviews. With an ever-expanding collection, OHAM is a living archive, currently comprising more than 3,000 audio and video recordings. We regularly conduct, catalogue, and transcribe interviews with emerging talents and established artists, producing a wealth of primary and secondary source material accessible to musicians, students, scholars, arts organizations, and the media. " - description from website.
This collection includes personal stories and recollections from a broad range of Americans and on a wide range of topics. You can use the Collections tab to filter to particular topic. This also includes a large number of September 11th stories.
Find diverse international perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, literature, business, economics, criminal justice and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, image editions, web-editions, trade journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, video content. Includes 144 Indiana news sources, along with approximately 12,000 other sources from around the world.
This is a database covers Indiana history from 1800 to 2017 and is available through Goshen Public Library, which you have access to as a GC student. Your Goshen Public Library barcode is the same as your GC ID barcode. To learn more, visit this website: https://libraryguides.goshen.edu/GPL
The Digital Public Library of America gives you access to over 29 million images, texts, videos and sounds across the United States. You can browse by topic, check out online exhibitions, or check out their primary source sets. They have categories for Colonization and Settlement (1585-1763) and Revolution and the New Nation (1754-1820s).
The Library of Congress has an enormous collection of primary sources on a range of topics, most related to United States history, but they have some global collections too. Consider browsing their digital collections to see if you can find a topic that interests you.
How should America wield its enormous power beyond its borders? Should it adhere to grand principles or act on narrow self-interest? Should it partner with other nations or avoid entangling alliances? Americans have been grappling with questions like these throughout the nation's history, and especially since the emergence of the United States as a major world power in the late nineteenth century. America in the World illuminates this history by capturing the diverse voices and viewpoints of some of the most colorful and eloquent people who participated in these momentous debates. Spanning the era from the Gilded Age to the Obama years, this unique reader collects more than two hundred documents--everything from presidential addresses and diplomatic cables to political cartoons and song lyrics. It encompasses various phases of American diplomatic history that are typically treated separately, such as the First World War, the Cold War, and 9/11. The book presents the perspectives of elite policymakers--presidents, secretaries of state, generals, and diplomats--alongside those of other kinds of Americans, such as newspaper columnists, clergymen, songwriters, poets, and novelists. It also features numerous documents from other countries, illustrating how foreigners viewed America's role in the world. Ideal for classroom use, America in the World sheds light on the complex interplay of political, economic, ideological, and cultural factors underlying the exercise of American power on the global stage
Defining Documents in American History: Civil Rights offers in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents and historic events that shaped civil rights struggles in American history. This text closely studies more than forty primary source documents to deliver a thorough examination of civil rights movements in the U.S. from 1954 to 2015. Defining Documents in American History: Civil Rights provides detailed, thought-provoking analysis of: Controversies and actions at the Dawn of the Civil Rights Movement; Legal Challenges to Segregation; The Civil Rights Act and Its Consequences; Organizations and Leaders in the Movement; Gay Rights, Criminal Justice, and the Movement for Social Justice. An historical timeline and bibliography of important supplemental readings will support readers in understanding the broader historical events and subjects in the period. An introduction for each of the major subjects covered in the title considers the significance of document analysis for students and educators. Each in-depth chapter guides readers with historical insight and comprehension. The documents included represent the diversity of ideas and contexts that defined social, political, and cultural subjects throughout this period in American history.
Jewish Radicals explores the intertwined histories of Jews and the American Left through a rich variety of primary documents. Written in English and Yiddish, these documents reflect the entire spectrum of radical opinion, from anarchism to social democracy, Communism to socialist-Zionism. Rank-and-file activists, organizational leaders, intellectuals, and commentators, from within the Jewish community and beyond, all have their say. Their stories crisscross the Atlantic, spanning from the United States to Europe and British-ruled Palestine. The documents illuminate in fascinating detail the efforts of large numbers of Jews to refashion themselves as they confronted major problems of the twentieth century: poverty, anti-semitism, the meaning of American national identity, war, and totalitarianism. In this comprehensive sourcebook, the story of Jewish radicals over seven decades is told for the first time in their own words.
An extraordinarily visceral collection of posters that represent the progressive protest movements of the twentieth Century. Two of the most recognizable images of twentieth-century art are Pablo Picasso's "Guernica" and the rather modest mass-produced poster by an unassuming illustrator, Lorraine Schneider "War is Not Healthy for Children and Other Living Things." From Picasso's masterpiece to a humble piece of poster art, artists have used their talents to express dissent and to protest against injustice and immorality. As the face of many political movements, posters are essential for fueling recruitment, spreading propaganda, and sustaining morale. Disseminated by governments, political parties, labor unions and other organizations, political posters transcend time and span the entire spectrum of political affiliations and philosophies. Drawing on the celebrated collection in the Tamiment Library's Poster and Broadside Collection at New York University, Ralph Young has compiled an extraordinarily visceral collection of posters that represent the progressive protest movements of the twentieth Century: labor, civil rights, the Vietnam War, LGBT rights, feminism and other minority rights. Make Art Not War can be enjoyed on aesthetic grounds alone, and also offers fascinating and revealing insights into twentieth century cultural, social and political history
Making Climate Change History is a short, user-friendly collection of primary sources selected from the most important--and often the most overlooked--documents in the scientific and political history of anthropogenic climate change. It provides students, teachers, researchers and interested readers with the raw materials with which to construct a narrative of climate change in the twentieth century. It also provides a framework for developing historians to learn to work with a diverse array of primary sources, including scientific articles. This reader also makes its own case for how the stakes of conversations about climate change have become increasingly clear over time in terms of causes and consequences, and argues for the relevance of history to building just, equitable and effective strategies for dealing with the climatic challenges of the future
The focus of Reading the Twentieth Century is on the role of the United States in the world in the twentieth century, after the nation became a major world player. Readings include public documents, memoirs, and media comments, many of which have never been published before. The book is structured in such a way that portions can be assigned to students, and the order of presentation is such that instructors can assign sections chronologically or thematically. Though highly informative, the editor's chapter introductions and the document head notes are brief, designed only to introduce the subject.
Boldly breaking the mold of previous anthologies, Words of a Century: The Top 100 American Speeches, 1900-1999 contains the complete-and authentic-texts of the best American speeches of the twentieth century as delivered to their immediate audiences. It features a remarkable array of speakers, from Woodrow Wilson, Clarence Darrow, and Carrie Chapman Catt to Martin Luther King, Ronald Reagan, John F. Kennedy, and Barbara Jordan. As diverse in type as they are in subject matter, the speeches open a unique window on the twentieth century, and many continue to resonate in our own time. Each is preceded by a headnote with background on the speaker, the occasion, and the impact of the speech. More than 2,000 annotations identify people, events, and textual references that help bring the speeches to life for today's readers. This exceptional anthology is ideal for courses in rhetoric, political communication, and twentieth century American history, as well as for anyone interested in the artistry and impact of the spoken word