Home - PSYCH 306 Abnormal Psychology (Julie Reese) - Spring 2021 - Harold & Wilma Good Library at Goshen College

E-encyclopedias

CREDO is a good way to get started...While it may be okay to occasionally cite from academic encyclopedias and dictionaries, you should be using these sources to A) get a background understanding to a subject and B) find other academic / scholarly sources, which you can use in your paper.

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
Professionally developed subject encyclopedia collection. Similar to Wikipedia yet with articles written by known subject experts.
Credo Reference is a multidisciplinary collection of subject encyclopedias and dictionaries. Developed with beginning researchers in mind, it includes resources to help develop search terms, as well as bibliographies that directly link to the library catalog. A strength is the robust quality of the articles written, while a weakness is that it is missing obscure topics. Subscription.

Encyclopedias

Databases

EBSCO This link opens in a new window
You may find the EBSCO interface yields more specific results
With EBSCO, you can choose which databases you want to search. For your class, I would suggest the following...

--Academic Search Premier
--Communication & Mass Media Complete (for some topics)
--ERIC (for some topics)
--Health Source - Consumer Edition (for some topics)
--PsycARTICLES (for all of your topics)
--PsycINFO (for all of your topics)
--Social Sciences Full Text - H.W.Wilson (for all of your topics)
--SocINDEX with Full Text (for all of your topics)

Pay attention to the facets on the side. You can use them to change your results quickly.
You can InterLibrary Loan articles as well if we do not have the full text. The article will usually come in a day or two.

Good Library Search

Search for an item at Good Library:

This search will get you both books and articles found in the library.
Use the facets (on the left side of the page) to limit your results like you want. It is common to limit by "article" and "full text".
You can ILL articles as well! We will email you the article.