Broad collection of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. A great starting point for any topic!
Academic Search Complete contains 18,000+ multidisciplinary titles indexed and abstracted (16,000+ are peer-reviewed) and 9,000+ full-text publications. Strength and weakness: very broad, so searchers are likely to find results, but may be overwhelmed by quantity. INSPIRE.
Best place to start for religion and theology research. Includes full-text journals and citation-only journals and books.
Atla Religion Database combines indexed journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with over 360 major religion and theology journals. Browse by Scripture, Publication or Index including the Atla Catholic Periodical and Literature Index, Talmud, Book of Mormon, and Quran index. Also includes book reviews and essays. Subscription.
Starting research point for education research, from preschool to college.
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an index of education research developed and supported by the U.S. Department of Education. It lists 1.5 million sources dating from 1966 to the present, with robust search functions including a thesaurus of works and phrases that represent subjects in the field of education. A strength is its extensiveness and selectivity of English language education research, while a weakness is its limited options for full text. INSPIRE.
Full-text of core academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. It's entire collection contains around 2,000 journals, although local access will vary. These are subscriptions, and chosen individually, so each collection will reflect the focus of the institution. The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues. Subscription.
Full-text coverage from scholarly journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes journal articles. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
APA PsycArticles is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health and is produced by the American Psychological Association. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages. Includes full text and indexed content. Available from multiple vendors. Subscription.
Full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences.
Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides the full text of 150 non-open access journals and detailed indexing for over 800 periodicalsthe vast majority are peer-reviewed. Over 220 titles are not held in Academic Search Complete, of these 60 are currently full-text (19 with a 12-month embargo) and about 40 have some full text but stopped over 3 years ago. (H.W. Wilson) INSPIRE.
