Harold & Wilma Good Library: Social Work: Biography

BIOGRAPHIES ONLINE

Over 525,000 people included

Activists, Rebels and Reformers
Ref HN17.5 .E534 2000
American National Biography
Ref CT213 .A68
Supp. 1 index by occupation (see Social Welfare: Social reformers, Social workers)
Current Biography
Ref CT100 C1 year
in Occupation indexes, see Social Activism
Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers
Ref HQ1236 .R29 2001
Women Building Chicago 1790-1990: A Biographical Dictionary
Ref HQ1439 .C47 W66 2001
The New Encyclopedia of Social Reform: Including All Social Reform Movements and Activities....(1908)
Ref H84 .B62
For a HISTORICAL PERSPECTIVE on people through the 19th century.

You can find sentences to chapters on an individual in eBooks:

eBook Collection - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Ebooks that cover many disciplines and are usually more recent.
EBSCO eBooks provides ebooks from a variety of publishers. Older academic titles and newer popular press titles (e.g. cookbooks, juvenile texts). Platform is fairly easy to use and books can be read entirely online. Print and download options are clearly listed. Subscription.

Online Books This link opens in a new window
Over 1 million eBooks, freely accessible; Univ. of PA
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Large collection of digitized books that are freely available. Most are older.
Project Gutenberg is a volunteer effort to digitize and archive cultural works, most of them in the public domain. Most are in plain text format, some are available in other formats such as HTML, or Kindle. Free.

Digital Book Index
This link takes you to the author/title search box. (NO SEARCHING WITHIN THE TEXT AT THIS SITE.) Click the Subject link at the top to view a web page of books under the subject "Social Service."

Social Work Pioneers
(National Association of Social Workers Foundation)
Social workers who have explored new territories and built outposts for human services on many frontiers. Each has contributed to the profession and to social policies through service, teaching, writing, research, program development, administration, or legislation.