Home - PSYCH 210 Developmental Psychology (Amanda Sensenig) - Spring 2015 - Harold & Wilma Good Library at Goshen College

Credo Reference Online & CQ Researcher

Both of these resources are a good way to get started...

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
Professionally developed subject encyclopedia collection. Similar to Wikipedia yet with articles written by known subject experts.
Credo Reference is a multidisciplinary collection of subject encyclopedias and dictionaries. Developed with beginning researchers in mind, it includes resources to help develop search terms, as well as bibliographies that directly link to the library catalog. A strength is the robust quality of the articles written, while a weakness is that it is missing obscure topics. Subscription.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reporting on issues in the news; pro-con essays from experts

Citation GoodGuide
Visit the Citation GoodGuide for examples of citations in APA, MLA, SBL, Chicago, and Turabian citation style.

Use this search box to search for books around the world!!
Remember the relevance only drop down
To request an item, click on "Request Item" button. Do NOT click on the "HOLDS" button for now.

Go to an encyclopedia entry first and then look up the books from the reference list in the catalog. (Remember the "relevance only" tab and to get "books" note "ebooks".)
On your interlibrary loan form, put in the date the assignment is DUE as your "Need By" date. We will get it as soon as we can, and putting in an earlier date will NOT make it come any sooner.
As soon as you get your assignment, gather your resources. Interlibrary loan takes time for books, and you would be wise to use it for this assignment.
Come see a librarian right away -- even if s/he just presented in your classroom. It isn't cheating.

Please click here to fill out an evaluation form for this class.

Search for an item at Good Library:

This search will get you both books and articles found in the library.
Use the facets (on the left side of the page) to limit your results like you want. It is common to limit by "article" and "full text".
You can ILL articles as well! We will email you the article.

EBSCO This link opens in a new window
35 EBSCO databases in a wide range of disciplines

You may find the EBSCO interface yields more specific results
With EBSCO, you can choose which databases you want to search. For your class, I would suggest the following...
- Academic Search Premier
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (for some topics)
- ERIC (for some topics)
- Health Source - Consumer Edition (for some topics)
- PsycARTICLES (for all of your topics)
- PsycINFO (for all of your topics)
- Social Sciences Full Text - H.W.Wilson (for all of your topics)
- SocINDEX with Full Text (for all of your topics)
Pay attention to the facets on the side. You can use them to change your results quickly.
You can InterLibrary Loan articles as well if we do not have the full text. The article will usually come in a day or two.