Harold & Wilma Good Library: HON 199: Research & Writing: Modernity & Spirituality: Primary Sources

Historical Newspapers

AAS Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection of historical American newspapers can serve as a great place to find primary sources on historical events. It contains 5 separate collections that cover 1691-1877.

Catholic News Archive
Search full text of a number of Catholic newspapers including The Catholic Worker, the National Catholic Reporter and more.
Chronicling America : Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Elephind.com
Search the world's historical newspaper archives.

New York Times This link opens in a new window
Here is information on the various New York Times Archives that are available: Archive FAQ
Your free GC subscription gives you access to articles from 1851 to today.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Find diverse international perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, literature, business, economics, criminal justice and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, image editions, web-editions, trade journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, video content. Includes 144 Indiana news sources, along with approximately 12,000 other sources from around the world.

NewspaperARCHIVE - Indiana
This is a database covers Indiana history from 1800 to 2017 and is available through Goshen Public Library, which you have access to as a GC student. Your Goshen Public Library barcode is the same as your GC ID barcode. To learn more, visit this website: https://libraryguides.goshen.edu/GPL