Harold & Wilma Good Library: HIST 375: American Foodways (Gollner Spring 2024): Where do I find primary sources?

General Digital Collections

The Library of Congress has an enormous collection of primary sources on a range of topics, most related to United States history, but they have some global collections too. Consider browsing their digital collections to see if you can find a topic that interests you.

The Digital Public Library of America gives you access to over 29 million images, texts, videos and sounds across the United States. You can browse by topic, check out online exhibitions, or check out their primary source sets.

University of California San Diego has a great guide full of links to digital archives and other primary sources on a range of topics.

Historical Newspapers

AAS Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection of historical American newspapers can serve as a great place to find primary sources on historical events. It contains 5 separate collections that cover 1691-1877.

Catholic News Archive
Search full text of a number of Catholic newspapers including The Catholic Worker, the National Catholic Reporter and more.
Chronicling America : Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Elephind.com
Search the world's historical newspaper archives.

New York Times This link opens in a new window
Here is information on the various New York Times Archives that are available: Archive FAQ
Your free GC subscription gives you access to articles from 1851 to today.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Find diverse international perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, literature, business, economics, criminal justice and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, image editions, web-editions, trade journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, video content. Includes 144 Indiana news sources, along with approximately 12,000 other sources from around the world.

NewspaperARCHIVE - Indiana
This is a database covers Indiana history from 1800 to 2017 and is available through Goshen Public Library, which you have access to as a GC student. Your Goshen Public Library barcode is the same as your GC ID barcode. To learn more, visit this website: https://libraryguides.goshen.edu/GPL

Local Newspapers

Elkhart Truth
2007-12-29 to present
Available through NewsBank

Goshen College Record Digital Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
Digital online archive for past issues of the Goshen College Record student newspaper.

Goshen News
2007-11-01 to present
Available through Newsbank
South Bend Tribune
1994-01-01 to present
Available through Newsbank

Food Related Primary Sources

Alice Marshall Women's History Collection
The Alice Marshall Women's History Collection, part of the Penn State Harrisburg Library's Archives and Special Collections, consists of literary, graphic, and manuscript materials dealing with the issues and individuals that comprised women's history from the 15th century to the early 1980s
HEARTH - Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition, History
HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance. The first phase of this project focused on books published between 1850 and 1925 and a small number of journals. Future phases of the project will include books published between 1926 and 1950, as well as additional journals. The full text of these materials, as well as bibliographies and essays on the wide array of subjects relating to Home Economics, are all freely accessible on this site. This is the first time a collection of this scale and scope has been made available.
Home Economics and Household Collection
The Home Economics Pamphlets Collection consists of government and commercial publications on the subject of home management and nutrition and includes educational materials, recipes, household hints, and other materials. The pamphlets were originally published between 1826 and the present.
The digital collection was built from resources held in the Martha Blakeney Hodges Special Collections and University Archives, the University Libraries Government Documents Collection, and by private collectors affiliated with the University Libraries. All materials presented online are presumed to be in the public domain. Due to copyright concerns, many of the pamphlets have not been digitized.
What's on the menu?
We’re transcribing our historical restaurant menus, dish by dish, so that they can be searched by what people were eating back in the day.