Harold & Wilma Good Library: Eng 201 World Literature (Martin Birky, Spring 2019): History & Culture Subject Enclopedias

Africa (e-encyclopedias)

Encyclopedia of Africa south of the Sahara
Call Number: Ref DT 351 .E53 1997
4 volumes
Encyclopedia of twentieth-century African history
Call Number: Ref DT 29 .E53 2003
1 volume
Encyclopedia of African religion
Call Number: 2nd Floor BL 2400 .E53 2009
2 volumes
Encyclopedia of African and African-American religions
Call Number: 2nd Floor BL2462.5 .E53 2001

African American religious cultures
Call Number: 2nd Floor BL 2500 .A37 2009
Greenwood encyclopedia of women’s issues worldwide
Call Number: Ref HQ 1115 .G74 2003
India is in vol. 1, Caribbean is in vol. 5, and Africa is in vol. 6
Religions of the world: a comprehensive encyclopedia of beliefs and practices
Call Number: Ref BL 80.3 .R45 2002
4 volumes
World education encyclopedia : a survey of educational systems worldwide
Call Number: Ref LB 15.W87 2001
3 volumes

BBC Country Profiles
BBC News Country profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
GlobalEDGE Insights
Global Insights provides international business and trade information on over 200 countries, the 50 U.S. states, as well as nearly two dozen industry sectors, and many of the world’s trade blocs.
NativePlanet Indigenous Mapping
One of the most comprehensive databases available about indigenous communities

The Gale encyclopedia of Native American tribes
Call Number: 2nd Floor E77 .G15 1998
Includes information about tribes native to the Caribbean.
The Rough Guide to the Dominican Republic by Rough Guides Staff (Editor); Sean Harvey; Tom Hutton (Created by)
Call Number: 2nd Floor F1934.5 .H37 2000
ISBN: 1858289122
Publication Date: 2002-12-30

Countries and their cultures
Call Number: Ref GN 307 .C68 2001
4 volumes
Encyclopedia of world cultures
Call Number: Ref GN 307 .E53
10 volumes + supplement

Cambridge encyclopedia of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, and the Maldives
Call Number: Ref DS 334.9 .C36 1989
Encyclopedia of Hinduism
Call Number: 2nd Floor BL 1105 .J56 2007
India 2001 : reference encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref DS 405 .I62 1995