Skip to Main Content

ENGL 204: World Literature (Martin Birky, Spring 2017): History & Culture Books

Cultures & countries

Countries and their cultures
Call Number: Ref GN 307 .C68 2001
4 volumes
Encyclopedia of the World's Nations
Call Number: Ref G 63 .K874 2002
3 volumes
Encyclopedia of world cultures
Call Number: Ref GN 307 .E53
10 volumes + supplement

Social/cultural topics & issues

African American religious cultures
Call Number: Ref BL 2500 .A37 2009
Greenwood encyclopedia of women’s issues worldwide
Call Number: Ref HQ 1115 .G74 2003
India is in vol. 1, Caribbean is in vol. 5, and Africa is in vol. 6
Religions of the world: a comprehensive encyclopedia of beliefs and practices
Call Number: Ref BL 80.3 .R45 2002
4 volumes
World education encyclopedia : a survey of educational systems worldwide
Call Number: Ref LB 15.W87 2001
3 volumes

Africa

Encyclopedia of Africa south of the Sahara
Call Number: Ref DT 351 .E53 1997
4 volumes
Encyclopedia of twentieth-century African history
Call Number: Ref DT 29 .E53 2003
1 volume
Encyclopedia of African religion
Call Number: Ref BL 2400 .E53 2009
2 volumes
Encyclopedia of African and African-American religions

India

Cambridge encyclopedia of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, and the Maldives
Call Number: Ref DS 334.9 .C36 1989
Encyclopedia of Hinduism
Call Number: Ref BL 1105 .J56 2007
India 2001 : reference encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref DS 405 .I62 1995

Caribbean

The dictionary of contemporary politics of Central America and the Caribbean
Call Number: Ref F 2183 .G86 1991
Dictionary of Caribbean biography
Call Number: Ref CT 503 .K3
The Gale encyclopedia of Native American tribes
Call Number: Ref E77 .G15 1998
Includes information about tribes native to the Caribbean.
Political parties of the Americas : Canada, Latin America, and the West Indies
Call Number: Ref JL 195 .P64 1982