It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getting Started: encyclopedias and dictionaries that provide background information. Pay attention to the "works cited" or "references". TIP: Search for the author of the theory rather than the theory itself.
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories by Lorraine Code (Editor)
Call Number: REF HQ1190.E63
Publication Date: 2000-09-19
Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers by Helen Rappaport
Call Number: HQ1236.R29 2001
Publication Date: 2001-12-06
Routledge Critical Dictionary of Feminism and Postfeminism by Sarah Gamble
Call Number: REF HQ1115.R68 2000
Publication Date: 2000-01-24
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women by Cheris Kramarae (Editor); Dale Spender (Editor)
Call Number: REF HQ1115.R69 2000
Publication Date: 2000-12-27
The Women's Movement Today by Leslie L. Heywood
Call Number: REF HQ 1115.W644 2006
Publication Date: 2005-11-01
Women's Studies Encyclopedia by Helen Tierney (Editor)
Call Number: Ref HQ 1115.W645
Publication Date: 1999-05-30
Women in World History by Anne Commire; Deborah Klezmer
Professionally developed subject encyclopedia collection. Similar to Wikipedia yet with articles written by known subject experts.
Credo Reference is a multidisciplinary collection of subject encyclopedias and dictionaries. Developed with beginning researchers in mind, it includes resources to help develop search terms, as well as bibliographies that directly link to the library catalog. A strength is the robust quality of the articles written, while a weakness is that it is missing obscure topics. Subscription.
Broad selection of books for reliable, brief entries on many subjects.
Oxford Reference is a collection of electronic encyclopedias and dictionaries published by Oxford University Press. Its strength comes from Oxford University Press reputation, but many of the results are very short entries. Subscription.