Skip to main content

PJCS 311: PEACE, JUSTICE & CONFLICT STUDIES JUNIOR SEMINAR (LIECHTY F'14) ARCHIVES ASSIGNMENT: HOME

Information about collections in the Mennonite Church USA Archives for the PJCS archives assignment.

Primary Sources on Peace, Justice, and Conflict Resolution in the Mennonite Church

The Mennonite Church USA Archives - Goshen is frequently confused with the Mennonite Historical Library on the 3rd Floor of Good Library.  The Archives and the Library are quite different.  In the Archives, you will find unpublished materials (diaries, letters, meeting minutes, internal reports, scrapbooks, photographs, etc.) pertaining to the (old) Mennonite Church and Mennonite Church USA.  

Records of the General Conference Mennonite Church may be found in the Mennonite Church USA Archives - North Newton, located in the Mennonite Library and Archives at Bethel College.  

ARCHIVES LOCATION AND HOURS

Newcomer Center
(enter from the south, follow the brick path trough the courtyard)

Hours:

M 9 AM - 12 PM, 1 PM - 5 PM

T 9 AM - 12 PM, 1 PM - 5 PM (5PM - 9 PM by appointment)

W 9 AM - 12 PM, 1 PM - 5 PM

R 9 AM - 12 PM, 1 PM - 5 PM

Web site:

http://resources.mennoniteusa.org/executive-board/archives/ 

Citing Archival Sources

It can be difficult and confusing to site archival sources. Consult this citation handout for advice in citing records from the Mennonite Church USA Archives in bibliographies and footnotes.

ARCHIVAL RESOURCES BY TOPIC

All of these archival resources address some aspect of peace, justice, or conflict resolution in the American Mennonite context.   They represent just a fraction of the entire holdings of the Mennonite Church USA Archives. 
 

Civil War

John F. Funk Papers, HM1-001
Box 6

Chicago Mennonite businessman's correspondence during the American Civil War; includes correspondence with Union soldiers.  Funk went on to become a leader in the Mennonite Church through his work as a publisher of Mennonite books and periodicals.

 

World War I

Christian L. Graber Papers, HM1-209
Box 7

Graber was drafted in the summer of 1918, a time when the United States did not recognize a conscientious objector classification for men conscripted into the military.  He was stationed at Camp Pike (Little Rock, Arkansas) and later Fort Riley, Kansas.  Graber refused to wear the uniform and was physically beaten by fellow draftees. 

Mennonite Church Peace Problems Committee Records, I-03-05.1
Box 4

The Peace Problems Committee studied Mennonite responses to military conscription in World War I.  Questionnaires containing data from various conferences of the Mennonite Church, as well as other Anabaptist groups in the United States provide detailed information about the fate of young men conscripted into the military.

Harry Sommers Papers, HM1-887
Box 1

Sommers, like Graber, was drafted for military service in World War I.  His papers include a transcript of his court martial, correspondence, work and furlough passes, and ephemera pertaining to conscientious objection in World War I.

 

Interwar Years / World War II / Korea

Civilian Public Service Camp No. 58 (Farnhurst, Del.) Collection, HM1-955
Box 1-2

CPS Camp No. 58 provided alternative service work to World War II conscientious objectors (COs); COs stationed there worked with patients in a state mental hospital (Delaware State Hospital for the Insane).  Materials in this collection not only document daily life for the COs during the war, but also include reunion records in which the COs reflect on the importance of the CPS experience in their lives.

Goshen College PAX Club Records, V-04-10
Box 2

In 1937, the PAX Club conducted a student survey to discern student attitudes towards military conscription, specifically asking what students would do if they were drafted.  Questionnaires from this study were retained and document student opinions about the draft as well as demographic information of survey participants.

PAX Collection: Richard Rush Photographs and Memoir, HM1-927
Box 1

Memoir of Rush's volunteer work in service of Mennonite refugees from 1951 to 1952 under the auspices of the Mennonite Central Committee's PAX program and Mennonite Voluntary Service.  Rush and other volunteers built housing for refugees in Espelskamp, Germany and churches in Zeilsheim, Germany and Windischgarsten, Austria.  

 

Race, Ethnicity, and Mission Work

LeRoy Bechler Papers, HM1-971
Boxes 1-2

Bechler spent most of his career with the Mennonite Board of Missions as an African American church planter.  His correspondence documents his work, which began in the early years of the American Civil Rights movement.  Of particular interest may be Bechler's correspondence from the late 1950s with pastors who held that racial segregation was Biblically mandated.

American Mennonite Mission (Dhamtari, India) Evangelistic Committee Records
Box 1

The first Mennonite mission abroad was established in India near the turn of the 20th century.  Mennonite work in India originally aimed to relieve the suffering of famine victims, but soon included evangelism.  Female Mennonite missionaries did not evangelize themselves, but rather supervised evangelism carried forward by "Indian Bible women."  These records provide insight into the relationship between the Mennonite missionaries and the Bible women.

Tillie Yoder Nauraine Papers, HM1-318
Boxes 1-2

As a young college student in the late 1940s, Tillie Yoder started a camp for urban African American children on her Amish parents' farm in Ohio.  A passionate writer, Yoder eloquently describes the motivations behind her work in correspondence to the Mennonite Board of Missions and in her autobiographical writings and essays.
 

Vietnam Era

Alan Hochstetler Papers, HM1-996
Box 1

Alan Hochstetler served with Mennonite Central Committee (MCC) in the late 1950s and early 1960s in Vietnam and Korea.  His papers include not only his letters home while serving with the MCC PAX program, but also a diary kept while abroad and a memoir of his service written later in life.

Gene Stoltzfus Papers, HM1-101
Box 2

Stoltzfus, the first director of Christian Peacemaker Teams, started his peace and justice work with Mennonite Voluntary Service and International Voluntary Service.  Stoltzfus's papers are rich in journals, correspondence, and other personal writings that document his journey as a peacemaker.
 

Contemporary Peace Activism

Christian Peacemaker Teams Records, X-056
Box 2 or Boxes 4-5, 10 or Boxes 7-8 or Boxes 9-11

Read about the origins of Christian Peacemaker Teams or study their actions in one of three regions:  Haiti, Hebron, or the Pine Ridge Reservation in South Dakota.  For a detailed box and folder inventory of the Christian Peacemaker Team Records, see the finding aid that describes the records in depth.

Mennonite Conscientious Resisters Records, VII-071
Box 1

Records of this organization centered on the campuses of Eastern Mennonite University, Goshen College, and Bethel College document draft resistance in the post-Vietnam era.  Includes newsletters, pamphlets, and a returned surveys on Mennonite military resistance

Garland Robertson Papers, HM1-936
Box 1

Personal papers of a Baptist military chaplain who spoke out against the First Gulf War and subsequently lost his military commission.  Robertson ultimately became a Mennonite pastor who served the church in Austin, Texas.  

Mark Arden Schmucker Papers, HM1-350
Boxes 1-2

Mark Schmucker refused to register with the Selective Service, faced trial, and was sentenced to time in prison for his actions.  Materials in his papers include his statements on his decision to resist the draft, selected court documents, newspaper clippings, and letters sent to Schmucker regarding his conviction in 1982.