Skip to main content

Helen Frost Writing Workshop May Term 2015: HOME

A brief guide to manuscript and archival resources available on the Goshen College campus.

ARCHIVES LOCATION AND HOURS

Newcomer Center
(enter from the south, follow the brick path trough the courtyard)

Hours:

Week of April 27:

M 9 AM - 12 PM, 1 PM - 5 PM

T 9 AM - 12 PM, 1 PM - 5 PM 

W 9 AM - 12 PM, 1 PM - 5 PM

R 9 AM - 12 PM, 1 PM - 5 PM

F Closed

Web site:

http://mennoniteusa.org/what-we-do/archives/

 

Citing Archival Sources

If you choose to use archival materials, you'll have to cite them in your bibliography.  Most finding aids include a collection citation in the "Administrative Information" section.

If there is no finding aid for the archival materials you use, you can formulate your own citation according to the Archival Citation Guide.

 

Finding Stories in the Archives

An archives holds unpublished documents created by individuals, families, and organizations.  Examples of archival records include diaries, letters, meeting minutes, reports, scrapbooks, and photographs.  These records tell stories -- of individuals, of families, of communities.

There are several entry points into the Mennonite Church USA Archives where you might find inspiration:

(1) Browse photographs on the Mennonite Church USA Flickr Photostream

The Mennonite Church USA Archives has posted about 7,000 photographs on Flickr.  Work with an archives staff member to find materials pertaining to an image that intrigues you, or follow up with reading at the Mennonite Historical Library on the third floor of the Good Library.

(2) Browse or Search Documents Online in the Goshen Plowshares Peace Studies Database

The Goshen Plowshares Peace Studies Database provides full-text online access to archival documents, ranging from first person accounts of conscientious objectors in World War I to records of the African Afro-American Inter-Mennonite Unity Conference of 1973.

(3) Search the Mennonite Church USA Finding Aid Database

The Mennonite Archival Commons provides descriptions of archival collections; come to the archives to study the actual archival material.  Be aware that Archon holds finding aids for three different repositories, and that not all collections at these three repositories have been cataloged in Archon.

(4) Explore the Collections Discussed in Class

I have chosen a number of materials that might provide good "fodder" for writing.  These will be available to you in the archives during the week of April 27.

 

 

Subject Guide

Eric Bradley
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Subject Areas:

Biology, Chemistry, Informatics, Mathematics, Nursing, Physics

Contact:
(574) 535-7424