FAQs - Frequently Asked Questions
What are the hours for Live Help?
How long can we check out books and other library items?
Can you get movies from other libraries like you can books?
How can I renew books or DVDs that I have checked out?
Where are course reserves? Are they only online, or are there copies we can borrow from the library also?
Is the computer lab open?
What do I do if I still can't find what I'm looking for?
Are there sections in the library where I can look for books on specific topics, such as psychology or music?
How do I access information from other libraries that aren't close to Goshen?
How do I find eBooks?
Do you have textbooks in the library?
What is the difference between CREDO and EBSCO? Is there a fundamental difference?
When I am in an EBSCO database do I need to 'sign-in'?
Are EBSCO searches limited to on-campus workstations?
What if I can't find something in the library databases? Am I allowed to use Google, Ask or Wikipedia?
When I tried to log into CQ Researcher during class I got an "access error" message. Why was that?
When can I get help with writing a paper?
How can I choose good keywords for my search?
How do I find the right source(s) on a certain topic?
How long does it take for an interlibrary loan to arrive at Good Library?
Sometimes instead of requesting an interlibrary loan, I simply search Google Scholar for the article...is that a bad idea?
Where can I go to find statistics, studies, and surveys - things I can use to find facts for my papers and presentations?
How old does an article have to be to be considered TOO old for research?
What is the easiest way to get peer-reviewed or refereed articles on a topic? Are they mostly on the internet, or can I find copies in the library?
Where are print journals and magazines in the library?
Live Help is available 51 hours a week when classes are in session:
M-F 9:00am - 5:00pm
Sun-Th 7:00pm - 10:00pm
Checkout policy varies by type of item. Reference books, for example, remain in the library. The Good Library webpage Circulation will give you the lowdown. Most circulating books may be checked out for 3 weeks with one renewal.
Many libraries do not lend their DVDs or videos. For feature films, you'll probably have better luck renting from a local video store. For educational films, we can send requests to other libraries, but chances are slim that any will lend their copy. Talk to your professor about asking the library to buy the film using funds available to his/her department for library materials.
Visit your Library Account. Enter your library barcode, the 14 digit number directly underneath the barcode on your campus ID.
eReserves refers to articles your professors have put on reserves that are accessed electronically from the Good Library home page.
Shelf reserves are print books or articles that students can get at the circulation desk for 2 hours at a time. They can be used in the library only.
In the Room Directory scroll to Good Library and click on GL102.
Ask a reference librarian when you are having trouble finding good information. We can help. You may visit us in the reference room, IM us via Live Help, call us (574.535.7431) or email us (email@example.com). The last hour of reference service is provided by reference interns, skilled student workers trained to provide reference service.
Books are arranged by call number and are topical according to the Library of Congress Classification Outline. Books on psychology are in the BFs, for instance, and music is in the Ms. These are very broad categories, obviously, and there are many subdivisions within any general topic. Ask a librarian for help finding good areas to browse or searching the catalog for more precise results.
One of the best places to identify items in other libraries is WorldCat - an online catalog of the world's libraries. You may also access WorldCat from the left-hand quick links menu on the library home page (World Catalog).
You can find over 5000 eBooks from NetLibrary in the Good library catalog. To find and read a NetLibrary eBook --
- click on Advanced Search under catalog quick search window
- from the drop down menu under Collection, choose eBook
- type your search terms into the search window and click Search
- once you find an eBook you you want to look at, click on Check for copies in the catalog record, then click Online link, then View this eBook.
Generally we do not purchase textbooks for courses currently offered.
From time to time professors will include books on their required reading lists that are also in the library's circulating collection. You can search for these by title in the catalog.
CREDO is a collection of 525 reference books from 73 publishers. Instead of purchasing these books in print form, we make them available electronically.
EBSCO is a vendor of databases, and it provides the interface for ~30 large databases in a variety of subjects. Most of these databases contain scholarly journal articles. Some provide abstracts to journal articles but not the complete article, and they may have 'index' in their name or description. If you find an article in an EBSCO database that is not full-text (not the complete article), you may request it through interlibrary loan.
In a nutshell: CREDO contains reference books and EBSCO contains articles (some full text, some not)
You may use EBSCO databases without creating a personal account and signing in, or you may create a free MyEBSCOhost account.
With this account, you can --
Organize your research with folders
Save and retrieve your search history
Create email alerts and/or RSS feeds
Gain access to your saved research remotely
You may access databases the Good Library subscribes to from off-campus computers. You will be asked to enter your Goshen username and password before connecting to most of them.
Check in your syllabus, in the assignment description, and with your professor for source requirements. Sometimes you will want to search the web for information on your topic or start in Wikipedia in order to come up with a strategy for strategy for searching scholarly databases. If you would like to access websites recommended by subject experts, try some of the subject directories listed in the guide box Websites you can trust.
The Good Library subscribes to five simultaneous users of CQ Researcher. Generally this is adequate, but sometimes during instruction sessions we go over that limit. Just wait a bit and try again; someone else may have finished using it by that time.
Beginning the third week of the semester, writing center walk-in hours are
Mon-Thur: 4:00 - 6:00 pm
Sun-Thur: 8:00 - 10:00 pm
The writing center is located on the first floor of the Good Library, immediately to the right of the front door.
One way to get tips on keywords is to use the subject heading, subject terms, or thesaurus tab in EBSCO databases. Look for these tabs in the top blue ribbon of EBSCO databases.
Another way to brainstorm keywords is to use Google's Wonder Wheel. Type a keyword related to your topic into a Google search window and click Search. To the left of the list of results you will see a menu with More Search Tools. In this section is a tool called Wonder Wheel. Clicking on this tool will show a diagram of your search term with a number of related terms radiating out from your term.
Browse Good Library subject guides for a list of books, databases and web sites by librarians in specific subjects.
Another good way to begin your research is to talk with a librarian. Knowing where to start for the best information on particular topics comes with experience. Dive in, ask questions, and enjoy the hunt!
BOOKS: Usually one to two weeks, but sometimes longer. It depends on how many libraries own the book, where they are located, the staffing levels at the lending libraries, etc.
ARTICLES: Usually within one week, but sometimes longer. Again, it depends on who has the journal, whether they can send it to us electronically, and what their standard turnaround time is.
Start early on your research -- as soon as you have your topic. If you wait until the last week or two before the assignment is due, you are not likely to get interlibrary loan items in time.
This is a great idea. If the article is available open-source (free) you are all set.
However, links in Google Scholar often take you to the publisher's website for full text, where you will be prompted to purchase the article for as much as $35 (using your own credit card). Take down the citation info, return to the Good Library home page and request it though interlibrary loan for free.
A good source for statistics is the Good Library statistics and government webpage, http://goshen.libguides.com/government_and_statistics
First look to see if your professor has given any guidelines for article currency in the assignment or syllabus. If your assignment does not specify, ask your professor. Currency varies by discipline. For example, a general rule of thumb for current research in medical literature is 5 years.
Sometimes you will be looking at issues from an historical perspective. In that case you will be looking for older literature.
Most peer-reviewed journal articles will be available to you electronically via one of our databases. Check the subject guides for a topical list of the best databases to search for scholarly articles.
MAGAZINES and NEWSPAPERS: Current issues of some popular magazines and newspapers are shelved in the NewsNook, located to the left of the circulation desk on the first floor. Older issues are upstairs, on the 3rd floor (south wing).
JOURNALS: If you're looking for a scholarly journal, even current issues may be upstairs on the 3rd floor. If you look up that journal in the catalog, it will tell you whether current issues are in the NewsNook or on the 3rd floor.
On the 3rd floor, periodicals are arranged alphabetically, beginning with the shelves nearest the windows. If a journal begins with a number (20th Century Art, for example) it is shelved at the very beginning of the collection, before the journals starting with 'A.'
Look for light switches on the end of the book shelves on the 3rd floor.
Finally, remember the yellow phone in the 3rd floor periodical room near the door. When you are not finding a journal pick up the yellow phone. It will ring the circulation desk, who will send someone up to help you.