Harold & Wilma Good Library: BIOLOGY: DATABASES

Finding Journal Articles

Finding articles is a two step process.

Identify an article with the information you need.
Locate the periodical in which that article appears.

To identify an article, search in the databases to the right. Find articles that apply to your research question.

Locate the article in one of three ways.

Click on the full text link within the database.
Find the periodical in the Good Library. Begin by using the library search.
Request the article from another library using interlibrary loan.

BIOLOGY DATABASES

BioOne
Biology, ecology, and environmental science articles and abstracts
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Biomedical research from 219 peer-reviewed journals; full text, open access

EBSCOhost health databases
Search six EBSCOhost health databases from one platform.

MedLine with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Extensive listing of medical scholarly journal articles compiled by the U.S. government, some available full text.
MEDLINE is an index of life sciences and biomedical research developed and supported by the U.S. National Institutes of Health. It lists 27 million sources from 1966 to the present with robust search functions including an up to date thesaurus of words and phrases that represent subjects in the medical field. A strength is its extensiveness and selectivity of medical research, while a weakness is its limited options for full text (approximately 15% of the collection is full text). INSPIRE.
GreenFILE
Listing of scholarly journal articles related to environmental issues.
GreenFILE is a index of scholarly journals focused on environmental issues including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling. A strength of the resource is its depth of coverage and searchability, while a weakness is the limited full text of content. Free.
PubMed.gov
Extensive listing of medical journals articles compiled by the U.S. government.
--PubMed Tutorial
PubMed is an index of life sciences and biomedical research developed and supported by the U.S. National Institutes of Health. The core of the PubMed collection is MEDLINE. It lists 30 million sources from 1809 to the present (only selected sources prior to 1966) with robust search functions including a thesaurus of works and phrases that represent subjects in the medical field. A strength is its extensiveness and selectivity of medical research, while a weakness is its limited options for full text. Free.

OTHER SOURCES OF BIOLOGY LITERATURE

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Broad collection of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. A great starting point for any topic!
Academic Search Complete contains 18,000+ multidisciplinary titles indexed and abstracted (16,000+ are peer-reviewed) and 9,000+ full-text publications. Strength and weakness: very broad, so searchers are likely to find results, but may be overwhelmed by quantity. INSPIRE.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reporting on issues in the news; pro-con essays from experts
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text of core academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. It's entire collection contains around 2,000 journals, although local access will vary. These are subscriptions, and chosen individually, so each collection will reflect the focus of the institution. The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues. Subscription.

PLoS
Public Library of Science; scientific and medical literature freely available

Good Library Search

Search for an item at Good Library:

SEARCHING BIOONE TUTORIAL

Searching PubMed Tutorial

New to PubMed? Click the image to walk through this tutorial.

Another PubMed tutorial:

PubMed Online Training