Harold & Wilma Good Library: ENGL 214: BANNED BOOKS (HOSTETLER, FALL 2014): Finding the challenges

Lexis Nexis

Lexis Nexis

BEFORE you search....

Click on "Advanced Options"
Limit to just "Newspapers"
Type in title of the book (put the book in quotes) example ... "the bluest eye"

AFTER your results load ...

Look for relevant articles (you will probably get too many results)
Narrow your search by searching again in the "Search within results" box in the upper right hand corner
Words to use (only search one at a time) ... banned, bans, censored, censors, challenged, challenges

Websites

"Classic" banned books (ALA.org)
Comprehensive list of challenges to "classic" books
Challenged Books Statistics (ALA.org)
National Coalition Against Censorship
Check out the features and blog

Google News

Google News
Put in the title of the book (in quotes) plus one of the following words.... banned, bans, censored, censors, challenged ,challenges (you might have to redo the search multiple times with a different word) EXAMPLE.... "The bluest eye" bans

EVALUATING INFORMATION

Evaluating webpages
UC Berkeley. Techniques to apply and questions to ask
Critically analyzing information sources
Cornell University Libraries. Questions to ask

NEWSPAPER DATABASES

Wanting to search exclusively through newspapers? The following sources search current news from current newspapers in the United States and around the World.

NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Find diverse international perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, literature, business, economics, criminal justice and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, image editions, web-editions, trade journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, video content. Includes 144 Indiana news sources, along with approximately 12,000 other sources from around the world.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, law cases and reviews, and company financial information.
NexisUni provides news, legal, and company information. News sources include newspapers and news wire services worldwide. Legal information includes court decisions and law journals. Company information includes financials, SEC filings, and legal cases. Subscription.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
News from around the world.
Newspaper Source Plus provides articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines from around the world. Includes television and radio transcripts and daily updates from popular news sources. INSPIRE.
McClatchy-Tribune Collection This link opens in a new window
90 day archive of nearly 500 newspapers from the McClatchy-Tribune Information Services; updated daily

NEW YORK TIMES

New York Times
For details on how to setup your own subscription to the New York Times via GC, visit http://libraryguides.goshen.edu/nytimes

ENGL 214: BANNED BOOKS (HOSTETLER, FALL 2014): Finding the challenges