Harold & Wilma Good Library: HISTORY & POLITICAL SCIENCE : REFERENCE

Finding Reference Sources

Reference sources can be found in two main ways: browsing the reference room in your subject area's call number area and searching the reference databases Credo and Oxford.

Credo Reference

Search 563 reference books

Oxford Reference Online

Search 300+ reference books

Select Encyclopedias in History / Political Science

Many encyclopedias are available in the Reference Room on the main floor of the library. For history browse through the call numbers C through G. For political science browse the call numbers H through K.

Columbia Gazetteer of the World
Located in the Reference Room -- G103.5 .C645 1998
Encyclopedia of the World's Nations
Located in the Reference Room -- G63 .K874 2002
Encyclopedia of World History
Blacks First
Great American History Fact Finder
Oxford Companion to United States History
Oxford Companion to American Military History

Select Encyclopedias in Church History

Many encyclopedias are available in the Reference Room on the main floor of the library. For church history browse the call number BX.

GAMEO: Global Anabaptist Mennonite Encyclopedia Online
Anabaptist-related history, theology, biography, institutions, and congregations; secular topics from an Anabaptist perspective

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
Source for information about the entire range of religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century.
New Catholic Encyclopedia
Located in the Reference Room -- BX841 .N44 2003
The Encyclopedia of Protestantism
Located in the Reference Room -- BX4811.3 .E53 2004
The Brethren Encyclopedia
In the Reference Room -- BX7821.2 .B74

Select Dictionaries in History / Political Science

Many dictionaries are available in the Reference Room on the main floor of the library. For history browse through the call numbers C through G. For political science browse the call numbers H through K.

Encyclopedic Dictionary of World History
Andromeda
"Facts about historical events, periods, and personalities available under alphabetically arranged headword entries."
Chambers Dictionary of World History
"Contains entries providing clear and authoritative coverage of the most significant people, ideas and events of world history."
Dictionary of American History
Located in the Reference Room -- E174 .D52 1976
Dictionary of Contemporary History 1945 to Present
"A concise guide to the ideas, events, people and movements that have shaped the world from the end of the Second World War to the present."
Dicitonary of Political Biography

Select Atlas in History / Political Science

Many atlas are available in the Reference Room on the main floor of the library. Look or ask for the seperate Atlas section.

Concise Atlas of the World
Andromeda
"Allows the user to trace the developments in one region of the world through time, or compare the nature of different civilisations in any given period."
Atlas of the Bible
Andromeda
"...features the main biblical sites, such as Galilee, the Judean desert and the Jerusalem hills, illustrated with colour maps."